Public schools in Minnesota
2,741 operating public schools in 544 school districts and other education agencies, school year 2024–25.
Operating schoolsDefinition
2,741
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
875,579
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
Not reported by the state
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not reported by the state
Charter schoolsDefinition
309
Largest districts by enrollment
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a quality ranking). 16 Minnesota districts have full profiles so far; search all 544.
| District | City | Schools | Students | Students / FTE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anoka-Hennepin School District | Coon Rapids | 53 | 38,354 | — |
| Saint Paul Public Schools | Saint Paul | 88 | 33,041 | — |
| Minneapolis Public School District | Minneapolis | 96 | 29,928 | — |
| Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan | Apple Valley | 40 | 29,224 | — |
| Osseo Public School District | Brooklyn Park | 34 | 21,138 | — |
| South Washington County Schools | Cottage Grove | 29 | 19,578 | — |
| Rochester Public School District | Rochester | 47 | 17,171 | — |
| Elk River Public School District | Elk River | 28 | 14,577 | — |
| Wayzata Public School District | Plymouth | 21 | 12,951 | — |
| Lakeville Area Schools | Lakeville | 22 | 12,025 | — |
| Mounds View Public School District | New Brighton | 28 | 11,934 | — |
| Minnetonka Public School District | Minnetonka | 14 | 11,323 | — |
| Robbinsdale Public School District | New Hope | 28 | 10,810 | — |
| North St. Paul-Maplewood Oakdale | Maplewood | 22 | 10,754 | — |
| Bloomington Public Schools | Bloomington | 25 | 10,442 | — |
Schools by locale
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| City | 22.5% | |
| Suburb | 24.8% | |
| Town | 18.8% | |
| Rural | 33.9% |
Schools by level
| Group | Schools | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 1,039 | |
| High | 1,024 | |
| Middle | 348 | |
| Other | 165 | |
| Prekindergarten | 161 | |
| Secondary | 4 |
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.