Minneapolis Public School District
Public school district based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. NCES district ID 2721240; state ID MN-030001.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,046 | |
| Kindergarten | 2,420 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,328 | |
| Grade 2 | 2,407 | |
| Grade 3 | 2,380 | |
| Grade 4 | 2,233 | |
| Grade 5 | 2,255 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,905 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,868 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,858 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,031 | |
| Grade 10 | 2,162 | |
| Grade 11 | 2,247 | |
| Grade 12 | 2,788 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 3.6% | |
| Asian | 3.4% | |
| Black or African American | 26.0% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 23.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 7.5% | |
| White | 36.2% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.0% | |
| Male | 52.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 96.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washburn High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 1,521 | 85.2 | 17.9 | City: Large |
| South High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 1,257 | 97.8 | 12.9 | City: Large |
| Southwest High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 1,195 | 76.0 | 15.7 | City: Large |
| Roosevelt High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 1,148 | 77.8 | 14.8 | City: Large |
| Andersen Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 1,052 | 78.9 | 13.3 | City: Large |
| Justice Page Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 1,020 | 46.7 | 21.9 | City: Large |
| Edison High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 865 | 64.2 | 13.5 | City: Large |
| Camden High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 783 | 77.1 | 10.2 | City: Large |
| Sanford Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 728 | 45.7 | 15.9 | City: Large |
| Anthony Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 727 | 36.9 | 19.7 | City: Large |
| Sullivan Elementary Minneapolis | PK–8 | Regular | 640 | 61.8 | 10.4 | City: Large |
| Green Central Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 594 | 44.8 | 13.3 | City: Large |
| North High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 591 | 53.6 | 11 | City: Large |
| Seward Elementary Minneapolis | PK–6 | Regular | 576 | 47.5 | 12.1 | City: Large |
| Early Childhood Special Education Minneapolis | PK–K | Special Education | 573 | 51.7 | 11.1 | City: Large |
| Northeast Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 541 | 38.3 | 14.1 | City: Large |
| Ella Baker Elementary Minneapolis | PK–8 | Regular | 512 | 54.7 | 9.4 | City: Large |
| Barton Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 508 | 32.0 | 15.9 | City: Large |
| Emerson Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 491 | 43.5 | 11.3 | City: Large |
| Whittier Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 491 | 43.2 | 11.4 | City: Large |
| Burroughs Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 481 | 29.2 | 16.5 | City: Large |
| Bancroft Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 477 | 36.0 | 13.3 | City: Large |
| Lyndale Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 466 | 41.3 | 11.3 | City: Large |
| Folwell Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 450 | 40.0 | 11.3 | City: Large |
| Pillsbury Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 439 | 42.1 | 10.4 | City: Large |
| Bryn Mawr Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 431 | 45.3 | 9.5 | City: Large |
| Marcy Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 415 | 37.3 | 11.1 | City: Large |
| Las Estrellas Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 401 | 41.9 | 9.6 | City: Large |
| Dowling Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 399 | 24.9 | 16 | City: Large |
| Kenwood Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 388 | 28.3 | 13.7 | City: Large |
| Lucy Laney Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 386 | 37.9 | 10.2 | City: Large |
| Northrop Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 381 | 23.0 | 16.6 | City: Large |
| Armatage Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 377 | 24.1 | 15.6 | City: Large |
| Windom Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 369 | 20.7 | 17.8 | City: Large |
| MPS Online 6-12 Minneapolis | 6–12 | Regular | 358 | 22.4 | 16 | City: Large |
| Lake Nokomis Keewaydin Elementary Minneapolis | 2–5 | Regular | 349 | 21.3 | 16.4 | City: Large |
| FAIR High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 337 | 21.4 | 15.7 | City: Large |
| Anwatin Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 334 | 28.0 | 11.9 | City: Large |
| Olson Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 329 | 41.6 | 7.9 | City: Large |
| Hale Elementary Minneapolis | K–2 | Regular | 326 | 19.7 | 16.5 | City: Large |
| Loring Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 321 | 30.8 | 10.4 | City: Large |
| Lake Harriet Lower Elementary Minneapolis | K–2 | Regular | 309 | 15.5 | 19.9 | City: Large |
| Nellie Stone Johnson Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 304 | 26.0 | 11.7 | City: Large |
| Kenny Elementary Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 295 | 19.2 | 15.4 | City: Large |
| Field Elementary Minneapolis | 3–5 | Regular | 287 | 19.6 | 14.7 | City: Large |
| Lake Harriet Upper Elementary Minneapolis | 3–5 | Regular | 284 | 16.9 | 16.8 | City: Large |
| Webster Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 276 | 28.3 | 9.7 | City: Large |
| Transition Plus Services Minneapolis | 12 | Special Education | 267 | 41.0 | 6.5 | City: Large |
| Waite Park Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 266 | 22.3 | 11.9 | City: Large |
| Hmong International Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 258 | 27.0 | 9.6 | City: Large |
| Franklin Middle Minneapolis | 6–8 | Regular | 254 | 25.6 | 9.9 | City: Large |
| Cityview Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 239 | 23.5 | 10.2 | City: Large |
| Jenny Lind Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 236 | 31.1 | 7.6 | City: Large |
| Hall Academy Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 234 | 26.2 | 8.9 | City: Large |
| Howe Elementary Minneapolis | 3–5 | Regular | 230 | 17.9 | 12.8 | City: Large |
| Bethune Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 213 | 27.5 | 7.7 | City: Large |
| Hiawatha Elementary Minneapolis | K–2 | Regular | 201 | 16.5 | 12.2 | City: Large |
| Pratt Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 196 | 24.9 | 7.9 | City: Large |
| Anishinabe Academy Elementary Minneapolis | PK–5 | Regular | 183 | 20.0 | 9.2 | City: Large |
| Wellstone International High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 166 | 20.0 | 8.3 | City: Large |
| Lake Nokomis Wenonah Elementary Minneapolis | K–1 | Regular | 152 | 12.9 | 11.8 | City: Large |
| Plymouth Youth Center Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 96 | 1.0 | 96check | City: Large |
| Roosevelt High - SWS Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 91 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Minneapolis Academy & Career Center Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 76 | 7.0 | 10.8 | City: Large |
| VOA High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 75 | 1.9 | 38.9 | City: Large |
| Heritage Academy High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Regular | 71 | 17.2 | 4.1 | City: Large |
| MPS Online K-5 Minneapolis | K–5 | Regular | 67 | 13.0 | 5.1 | City: Large |
| River Bend Educational Center Minneapolis | K–12 | Special Education | 65 | 17.8 | 3.6 | City: Large |
| Merc Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 60 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Loring-Nicollet High Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 57 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Harrison Education Center Minneapolis | 9–12 | Special Education | 50 | 11.0 | 4.5 | City: Large |
| Longfellow Alternative High Minneapolis | 7–12 | Alternative | 50 | 6.4 | 7.8 | City: Large |
| Menlo Park Academy Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 45 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Stadium View Minneapolis | 6–12 | Alternative | 43 | 12.0 | 3.6 | City: Large |
| Wellstone International High - SWS Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 39 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Center School Minneapolis | 7–12 | Alternative | 37 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Takoda Prep Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 36 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| MPS Metro HA Minneapolis | K–12 | Alternative | 35 | 8.4 | 4.2 | City: Large |
| MPS Metro DT Minneapolis | K–12 | Alternative | 26 | 5.8 | 4.5 | City: Large |
| Prekindergarten North Minneapolis | PK | Regular | 10 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| MERC Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 7 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Ronald McDonald House Minneapolis | K–12 | Alternative | 6 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Early Childhood Assessment/Special Minneapolis | PK | Special Education | 3 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Menlo Park Academy Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 3 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Plymouth Youth Center Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 2 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Southwest High - SWS Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 1 | 0.0 | — | City: Large |
| Basic Skills Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| ALC Extended Day Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Takoda Prep Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Loring-Nicollet High Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Center School Extended Minneapolis | 7–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| VOA High Extended Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Prekindergarten South Minneapolis | PK | Regular | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Minneapolis Academy & Career Extend Minneapolis | 9–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Nonpublic Shared Time Minneapolis | K–12 | Special Education | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
| Out of State Care and Treatment Minneapolis | K–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Minnesota: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.