Public schools in Alabama
1,532 operating public schools in 155 school districts and other education agencies, school year 2024–25.
Operating schoolsDefinition
1,532
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
751,060
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
Not reported by the state
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not reported by the state
Charter schoolsDefinition
23
Largest districts by enrollment
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a quality ranking). 17 Alabama districts have full profiles so far; search all 155.
| District | City | Schools | Students | Students / FTE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile County | Mobile | 92 | 49,946 | — |
| Jefferson County | Birmingham | 57 | 35,444 | — |
| Baldwin County | Daphne | 45 | 31,965 | — |
| Montgomery County | Montgomery | 50 | 26,395 | — |
| Huntsville City | Huntsville | 46 | 24,222 | — |
| Birmingham City | Birmingham | 49 | 20,954 | — |
| Madison County | Huntsville | 30 | 20,691 | — |
| Shelby County | Birmingham | 33 | 20,638 | — |
| Tuscaloosa County | Northport | 36 | 19,278 | — |
| Limestone County | Athens | 16 | 16,497 | — |
| Hoover City | Hoover | 18 | 13,632 | — |
| Madison City | Madison | 13 | 13,046 | 16.8 |
| Elmore County | Wetumpka | 17 | 11,741 | — |
| Tuscaloosa City | Tuscaloosa | 21 | 11,230 | — |
| Cullman County | Cullman | 27 | 9,901 | — |
Schools by locale
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| City | 21.5% | |
| Suburb | 18.3% | |
| Town | 13.2% | |
| Rural | 47.1% |
Schools by level
| Group | Schools | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | 707 | |
| High | 415 | |
| Middle | 266 | |
| Other | 114 | |
| Prekindergarten | 10 | |
| Not reported | 10 | |
| Secondary | 10 |
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.