Shelby County
Public school district based in Birmingham, Alabama. NCES district ID 0103030; state ID AL-059.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 162 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,405 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,476 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,475 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,651 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,542 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,617 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,539 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,561 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,593 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,660 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,621 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,712 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,624 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 2.3% | |
| Black or African American | 18.4% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 11.8% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 2.5% | |
| White | 64.7% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.0% | |
| Male | 51.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 13, Town 3, Rural 17.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oak Mountain High School Birmingham | 9–12 | Regular | 1,648 | 89.0 | 18.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Helena High School Helena | 9–12 | Regular | 1,383 | 78.5 | 17.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chelsea High School Chelsea | 9–12 | Regular | 1,235 | 72.5 | 17 | Rural: Fringe |
| Oak Mountain Middle School Birmingham | 6–8 | Regular | 1,168 | 63.0 | 18.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Calera High Calera | 9–12 | Regular | 1,018 | 57.0 | 17.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Helena Middle Helena | 6–8 | Regular | 957 | 52.5 | 18.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Helena Intermediate School Helena | 3–5 | Regular | 955 | 53.0 | 18 | Suburb: Large |
| Chelsea Park Elementary School Chelsea | K–5 | Regular | 891 | 55.0 | 16.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chelsea Middle School Chelsea | 6–8 | Regular | 831 | 46.5 | 17.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Helena Elementary School Helena | K–2 | Regular | 778 | 45.0 | 17.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Calera Middle Montevallo | 6–8 | Regular | 767 | 45.5 | 16.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Calera Elementary Calera | K–2 | Regular | 766 | 42.0 | 18.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Montevallo Elementary School Montevallo | K–5 | Regular | 758 | 49.8 | 15.2 | Town: Fringe |
| Calera Intermediate School Calera | 3–5 | Regular | 747 | 49.8 | 15 | Suburb: Large |
| Oak Mountain Elementary School Birmingham | PK–3 | Regular | 675 | 42.0 | 16.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Oak Mountain Intermediate School Birmingham | 4–5 | Regular | 636 | 37.4 | 17 | Suburb: Large |
| Forest Oaks Elementary School Chelsea | K–5 | Regular | 606 | 36.1 | 16.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Shelby County High School Columbiana | 9–12 | Regular | 572 | 40.5 | 14.1 | Rural: Distant |
| Inverness Elementary School Birmingham | PK–3 | Regular | 563 | 35.2 | 16 | Suburb: Large |
| Elvin Hill Elementary School Columbiana | K–5 | Regular | 534 | 32.2 | 16.6 | Rural: Distant |
| Mt Laurel Elementary School Birmingham | K–5 | Regular | 498 | 30.6 | 16.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Montevallo High School Montevallo | 9–12 | Regular | 485 | 35.0 | 13.9 | Town: Fringe |
| Vincent Middle High School Vincent | 6–12 | Regular | 447 | 39.0 | 11.5 | Rural: Distant |
| Columbiana Middle School Columbiana | 6–8 | Regular | 428 | 29.3 | 14.6 | Rural: Distant |
| Vincent Elementary School Vincent | PK–5 | Regular | 397 | 24.4 | 16.3 | Rural: Distant |
| Montevallo Middle School Montevallo | 6–8 | Regular | 346 | 30.5 | 11.3 | Town: Fringe |
| Shelby Elementary School Shelby | PK–5 | Regular | 242 | 18.4 | 13.2 | Rural: Distant |
| Wilsonville Elementary School Wilsonville | PK–5 | Regular | 229 | 16.2 | 14.1 | Rural: Distant |
| Linda Nolen Learning Center Pelham | PK–12 | Special Education | 78 | 15.0 | 5.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Career Technical Education Center Columbiana | 9–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | 11.0 | — | Rural: Fringe |
| New Direction Columbiana | 6–12 | Alternative | Not reported | 6.0 | — | Rural: Fringe |
| STAR Program Elementary Pelham | PK–5 | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| STAR Program Middle Pelham | 6–8 | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.