Madison County
Public school district based in Huntsville, Alabama. NCES district ID 0102220; state ID AL-045.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 574 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,458 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,453 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,515 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,524 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,532 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,564 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,490 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,553 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,610 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,677 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,613 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,593 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,535 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 4.6% | |
| Asian | 1.1% | |
| Black or African American | 24.3% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 9.0% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 6.8% | |
| White | 54.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.0% | |
| Male | 52.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 13, Rural 17.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sparkman High School Harvest | 9–12 | Regular | 1,770 | 88.0 | 20.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Hazel Green High School Hazel Green | 9–12 | Regular | 1,454 | 74.0 | 19.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Buckhorn High School New Market | 9–12 | Regular | 1,320 | 69.2 | 19.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Meridianville Middle School Hazel Green | 6–8 | Regular | 1,100 | 51.0 | 21.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Monrovia Middle School Huntsville | 6–8 | Regular | 988 | 47.0 | 21 | Suburb: Large |
| Hazel Green Elementary School Hazel Green | PK–5 | Regular | 963 | 50.5 | 19.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Riverton Intermediate School Huntsville | 4–6 | Regular | 872 | 41.2 | 21.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Madison Cross Roads Elementary School Toney | PK–5 | Regular | 841 | 55.0 | 15.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Endeavor Elementary School Harvest | PK–5 | Regular | 760 | 41.5 | 18.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Sparkman Middle School Toney | 6–8 | Regular | 723 | 40.0 | 18.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Buckhorn Middle School New Market | 7–8 | Regular | 701 | 34.2 | 20.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Moores Mill Intermediate School New Market | 3–5 | Regular | 675 | 30.0 | 22.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Harvest School Harvest | PK–5 | Regular | 663 | 33.5 | 19.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Mt Carmel Elementary School Huntsville | PK–3 | Regular | 638 | 39.2 | 16.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Sparkman Ninth Grade School Harvest | 9 | Regular | 621 | 34.7 | 17.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Lynn Fanning Elementary School Meridianville | K–2 | Regular | 618 | 36.0 | 17.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Central School Huntsville | PK–8 | Regular | 610 | 33.8 | 18 | Rural: Fringe |
| Monrovia Elementary School Huntsville | PK–5 | Regular | 600 | 35.0 | 17.1 | Suburb: Large |
| New Hope High School New Hope | 7–12 | Regular | 598 | 36.2 | 16.5 | Rural: Distant |
| Riverton Elementary School Huntsville | PK–3 | Regular | 596 | 32.6 | 18.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Legacy Elementary School Madison | PK–5 | Regular | 594 | 34.0 | 17.5 | Suburb: Large |
| New Hope Elementary School New Hope | PK–6 | Regular | 534 | 32.0 | 16.7 | Rural: Distant |
| Madison County Virtual Academy Huntsville | 6–12 | Regular | 513 | 29.8 | 17.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Madison County High School Gurley | 9–12 | Regular | 451 | 26.0 | 17.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| New Market School New Market | PK–6 | Regular | 426 | 25.9 | 16.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Madison County Elementary School Gurley | PK–8 | Regular | 421 | 26.9 | 15.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Owens Cross Roads School Owens Cross Roads | PK–4 | Regular | 338 | 18.0 | 18.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Walnut Grove School New Market | PK–6 | Regular | 303 | 19.2 | 15.8 | Rural: Distant |
| Madison County Alternative School Huntsville | 1–12 | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Madison County Career Technical Center Huntsville | 9–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | 11.0 | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.