SchoolScope USA

Huntsville City

Public school district based in Huntsville, Alabama. NCES district ID 0101800; state ID AL-159.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
24,222
44 of 46 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,358.1
44 of 46 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Huntsville CityHuntsville City, Alabama · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 737
Kindergarten 1,888
Grade 1 1,936
Grade 2 1,967
Grade 3 1,920
Grade 4 1,778
Grade 5 1,804
Grade 6 1,743
Grade 7 1,815
Grade 8 1,775
Grade 9 1,847
Grade 10 1,774
Grade 11 1,708
Grade 12 1,530

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Huntsville CityHuntsville City, Alabama · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 1.5%
Black or African American 39.1%
Hispanic/Latino 17.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.3%
Two or more races 6.6%
White 34.8%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Huntsville CityHuntsville City, Alabama · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.3%
Male 50.7%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 43, Town 3.

Operating public schools, Huntsville CityAlabama · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Virgil Grissom High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 1,847 99.5 18.6 City: Midsize
Huntsville High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 1,807 103.0 17.5 City: Midsize
Providence Elementary
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 1,152 54.0 21.3 City: Midsize
GoldsmithSchiffman Elementary
Big Cove
PK–5 Regular 935 53.6 17.4 Town: Fringe
Columbia High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 916 54.0 17 City: Midsize
Lee High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 877 48.5 18.1 City: Midsize
Jemison High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 858 44.1 19.5 City: Midsize
Hampton Cove Middle School
Hampton Cove
6–8 Regular 785 35.0 22.4 Town: Fringe
Hampton Cove Elementary
Hampton Cove
PK–5 Regular 711 39.2 18.1 Town: Fringe
Williams Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 659 30.0 22 City: Midsize
Blossomwood Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 596 37.5 15.9 City: Midsize
Sonnie Hereford Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 578 31.0 18.6 City: Midsize
Whitesburg Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 535 29.0 18.4 City: Midsize
Morris Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 532 29.5 18 City: Midsize
Huntsville Junior High School
Huntsville
7–8 Regular 530 25.5 20.8 City: Midsize
McDonnell Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 511 27.0 18.9 City: Midsize
Challenger Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 491 28.0 17.5 City: Midsize
Williams Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 484 27.0 17.9 City: Midsize
Rolling Hills Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 483 28.4 17 City: Midsize
Weatherly Heights Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 472 30.0 15.7 City: Midsize
Jones Valley Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 471 27.1 17.4 City: Midsize
Ridgecrest Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 463 30.0 15.4 City: Midsize
Martin Luther King Jr Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 458 27.0 17 City: Midsize
James Dawson Elementary
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 447 26.2 17.1 City: Midsize
Challenger Middle School
Huntsville
6–9 Regular 425 23.0 18.5 City: Midsize
Academy For Academics Arts Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 400 23.0 17.4 City: Midsize
Lakewood Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 397 22.9 17.3 City: Midsize
Morris Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 397 25.0 15.9 City: Midsize
Roger B Chaffee Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 396 24.8 16 City: Midsize
Ronald McNair 78
Huntsville
7–8 Regular 390 20.0 19.5 City: Midsize
Whitesburg Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 379 24.0 15.8 City: Midsize
Highlands Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 370 21.7 17.1 City: Midsize
New Century Technology High School
Huntsville
9–12 Regular 366 27.0 13.6 City: Midsize
Mountain Gap Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 366 23.0 15.9 City: Midsize
Mountain Gap Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 341 19.8 17.2 City: Midsize
Artemis Virtual Academy
Huntsville
K–12 Regular 338 5.0 67.6check City: Midsize
Farley Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 334 18.8 17.8 City: Midsize
Chapman Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 315 20.9 15.1 City: Midsize
Academy For Science Foreign Language
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 303 22.0 13.8 City: Midsize
Academy for Academics and Arts Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 270 19.5 13.8 City: Midsize
Monte Sano Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–6 Regular 263 16.7 15.7 City: Midsize
Montview Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 213 12.9 16.5 City: Midsize
Academy For Science Foreign Language Middle School
Huntsville
6–8 Regular 194 13.0 14.9 City: Midsize
Chapman Elementary School
Huntsville
PK–5 Regular 167 11.1 15.1 City: Midsize
Huntsville Center For Technology
Huntsville
9–12 Career and Technical Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
Mental Health Center
Huntsville
K–12 Special Education Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.