SchoolScope USA

Birmingham City

Public school district based in Birmingham, Alabama. NCES district ID 0100390; state ID AL-114.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
20,954
43 of 49 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,089.0
43 of 49 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Birmingham CityBirmingham City, Alabama · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 846
Kindergarten 1,642
Grade 1 1,720
Grade 2 1,688
Grade 3 1,781
Grade 4 1,635
Grade 5 1,626
Grade 6 1,505
Grade 7 1,477
Grade 8 1,416
Grade 9 1,523
Grade 10 1,449
Grade 11 1,361
Grade 12 1,285

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Birmingham CityBirmingham City, Alabama · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.1%
Asian 0.2%
Black or African American 83.3%
Hispanic/Latino 13.8%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 1.4%
White 1.2%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Birmingham CityBirmingham City, Alabama · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 46.0%
Male 54.0%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 49.

Operating public schools, Birmingham CityAlabama · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Huffman High SchoolMagnet
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 1,094 59.0 18.5 City: Midsize
Parker High School
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 942 43.0 21.9 City: Midsize
Glen Iris Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–6 Regular 827 38.0 21.8 City: Midsize
Huffman Academy
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 779 35.0 22.3 City: Midsize
Ramsay High School
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 762 46.0 16.6 City: Midsize
Woodlawn High SchoolMagnet
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 750 32.0 23.4 City: Midsize
JacksonOlin High School
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 713 41.0 17.4 City: Midsize
Hayes K8
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 693 42.0 16.5 City: Midsize
Sun Valley Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 678 33.0 20.5 City: Midsize
Wenonah High School
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 670 39.0 17.2 City: Midsize
Washington K8
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 617 30.0 20.6 City: Midsize
Phillips Academy
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 609 33.0 18.5 City: Midsize
Hudson KEight School
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 580 30.0 19.3 City: Midsize
Christian School
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 574 32.0 17.9 City: Midsize
George Washington Carver High School
Birmingham
9–12 Regular 570 39.0 14.6 City: Midsize
Martha Gaskins K5
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 537 20.0 26.9 City: Midsize
Oxmoor K5
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 512 25.0 20.5 City: Midsize
South Hampton K8
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 511 26.0 19.7 City: Midsize
West End Academy
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 492 28.0 17.6 City: Midsize
Jones Valley Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 465 21.5 21.6 City: Midsize
Minor Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 441 24.0 18.4 City: Midsize
Wilkerson Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 424 12.0 35.3 City: Midsize
Tuggle Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 423 18.0 23.5 City: Midsize
Wylam Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 399 23.0 17.3 City: Midsize
Central Park Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 386 23.0 16.8 City: Midsize
Huffman Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 384 16.0 24 City: Midsize
Barrett Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 383 23.0 16.7 City: Midsize
Bush Hills STEAM Academy
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 370 18.0 20.6 City: Midsize
Robinson Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 354 17.0 20.8 City: Midsize
Hemphill Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 353 20.0 17.6 City: Midsize
Oliver K5 School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 343 16.5 20.8 City: Midsize
Richard Arrington Elementary
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 341 18.0 18.9 City: Midsize
Avondale Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 339 19.0 17.8 City: Midsize
Smith Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 336 16.0 21 City: Midsize
Ossie Ware Mitchell Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 330 15.0 22 City: Midsize
Inglenook School
Birmingham
PK–8 Regular 312 14.0 22.3 City: Midsize
Green Acres Middle School
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 309 14.0 22.1 City: Midsize
Charles A Brown Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 296 18.0 16.4 City: Midsize
Norwood Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 261 14.0 18.6 City: Midsize
EPIC Alternative Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 232 18.0 12.9 City: Midsize
Princeton School
Birmingham
PK–5 Regular 195 15.0 13 City: Midsize
WE Putnam Middle SchoolMagnet
Birmingham
6–8 Regular 184 17.0 10.8 City: Midsize
BCS Virtual Academy of Learning
Birmingham
3–12 Regular 184 8.0 23 City: Midsize
Engle Day Treatment
Birmingham
1–7 Special Education Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
City Elementary
Birmingham
7–8 Alternative Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
Dupuy Alternative School
Birmingham
9–12 Alternative Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
Adolescent Day Treatment
Birmingham
K–12 Special Education Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
Homebound Elementary School
Birmingham
PK–6 Special Education Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
Homebound High School
Birmingham
7–12 Special Education Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.