SchoolScope USA

Tuscaloosa City

Public school district based in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. NCES district ID 0103360; state ID AL-200.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
11,230
19 of 21 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
656.4
19 of 21 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Tuscaloosa CityTuscaloosa City, Alabama · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 601
Kindergarten 849
Grade 1 915
Grade 2 879
Grade 3 921
Grade 4 808
Grade 5 820
Grade 6 806
Grade 7 792
Grade 8 756
Grade 9 821
Grade 10 813
Grade 11 729
Grade 12 720

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Tuscaloosa CityTuscaloosa City, Alabama · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.4%
Asian 2.3%
Black or African American 66.2%
Hispanic/Latino 7.9%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 1.7%
White 21.4%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Tuscaloosa CityTuscaloosa City, Alabama · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.7%
Male 50.3%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 20, Rural 1.

Operating public schools, Tuscaloosa CityAlabama · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Northridge High School
Tuscaloosa
9–12 Regular 1,153 54.5 21.2 City: Midsize
Paul W Bryant High School
Cottondale
9–12 Regular 1,134 54.0 21 City: Midsize
Central High School
Tuscaloosa
9–12 Regular 796 44.5 17.9 City: Midsize
Northridge Middle School
Tuscaloosa
6–8 Regular 775 49.0 15.8 City: Midsize
Eastwood Middle School
Cottondale
6–8 Regular 711 37.5 19 City: Midsize
Rock Quarry Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 671 38.7 17.4 City: Midsize
Southview Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 644 36.2 17.8 Rural: Fringe
The Alberta School of Performing Arts
Tuscaloosa
PK–8 Regular 632 46.6 13.6 City: Midsize
Verner Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 608 33.9 17.9 City: Midsize
University Place Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 570 38.0 15 City: Midsize
Westlawn Middle School
Tuscaloosa
6–8 Regular 568 38.0 14.9 City: Midsize
Woodland Forrest Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 544 30.0 18.1 City: Midsize
Martin L King Jr Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 467 28.0 16.7 City: Midsize
Skyland Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 459 27.8 16.5 City: Midsize
Arcadia Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 418 26.0 16.1 City: Midsize
Tuscaloosa Magnet School Elementary
Tuscaloosa
1–5 Regular 324 21.5 15.1 City: Midsize
Oakdale Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 292 21.7 13.5 City: Midsize
Central Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 291 20.1 14.5 City: Midsize
Tuscaloosa Magnet School Middle
Tuscaloosa
6–8 Regular 173 10.5 16.5 City: Midsize
Tuscaloosa Career and Technology Academy
Tuscaloosa
9–12 Career and Technical Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize
STARS Academy
Tuscaloosa
K–12 Alternative Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.