SchoolScope USA

Tuscaloosa County

Public school district based in Northport, Alabama. NCES district ID 0103390; state ID AL-063.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
19,278
35 of 36 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,118.8
35 of 36 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Tuscaloosa CountyTuscaloosa County, Alabama · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 767
Kindergarten 1,448
Grade 1 1,452
Grade 2 1,515
Grade 3 1,589
Grade 4 1,383
Grade 5 1,439
Grade 6 1,359
Grade 7 1,363
Grade 8 1,325
Grade 9 1,524
Grade 10 1,457
Grade 11 1,329
Grade 12 1,328

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Tuscaloosa CountyTuscaloosa County, Alabama · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian 0.6%
Black or African American 31.6%
Hispanic/Latino 13.7%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 2.3%
White 51.5%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Tuscaloosa CountyTuscaloosa County, Alabama · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.6%
Male 51.4%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 1, Suburb 18, Rural 17.

Operating public schools, Tuscaloosa CountyAlabama · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Tuscaloosa County High School
Northport
9–12 Regular 1,607 90.2 17.8 Suburb: Midsize
Hillcrest High School
Tuscaloosa
9–12 Regular 1,434 79.0 18.2 Suburb: Midsize
Brookwood High School
Brookwood
9–12 Regular 1,076 59.0 18.2 Rural: Distant
Lake View Elementary School
McCalla
PK–5 Regular 744 41.5 17.9 Rural: Distant
Walker Elementary School
Northport
PK–5 Regular 743 46.3 16 Rural: Distant
Echols Middle School
Northport
7–8 Regular 738 42.0 17.6 Suburb: Midsize
Brookwood Middle School
Vance
6–8 Regular 738 37.0 19.9 Rural: Distant
Brookwood Elementary School
Brookwood
PK–5 Regular 631 31.3 20.2 Rural: Distant
Taylorville Primary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–2 Regular 578 31.0 18.6 Suburb: Midsize
Sipsey Valley Middle School
Buhl
5–8 Regular 575 28.3 20.4 Rural: Distant
Northport Elementary School
Northport
PK–2 Regular 558 38.0 14.7 Suburb: Midsize
Hillcrest Middle School
Tuscaloosa
6–8 Regular 542 28.0 19.4 Suburb: Midsize
Northside High School
Northport
9–12 Regular 535 29.5 18.1 Rural: Distant
Sipsey Valley High School
Buhl
9–12 Regular 524 30.0 17.5 Rural: Distant
Englewood Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
3–5 Regular 522 28.0 18.6 Suburb: Midsize
Big Sandy Elementary
Moundville
PK–5 Regular 522 29.2 17.9 Rural: Fringe
Maxwell Elementary School
Duncanville
PK–5 Regular 511 32.4 15.8 Rural: Fringe
Northport Intermediate School
Northport
5–6 Regular 500 25.4 19.7 Suburb: Midsize
Duncanville Middle School
Duncanville
6–8 Regular 460 21.0 21.9 Rural: Fringe
Flatwoods Elementary School
Northport
PK–4 Regular 459 31.9 14.4 Suburb: Midsize
Holt High School
Tuscaloosa
9–12 Regular 456 28.0 16.3 Suburb: Midsize
Vance Elementary School
Vance
PK–5 Regular 451 30.3 14.9 Rural: Distant
Holt Elementary School
Tuscaloosa
PK–5 Regular 448 25.9 17.3 Rural: Fringe
Cottondale Elementary School
Cottondale
PK–5 Regular 438 25.0 17.5 Suburb: Midsize
Matthews Elementary School
Northport
PK–4 Regular 401 26.3 15.3 Suburb: Midsize
DavisEmerson Middle School
Cottondale
6–8 Regular 397 21.0 18.9 Suburb: Midsize
Northside Middle School
Northport
6–8 Regular 394 23.5 16.8 Rural: Distant
Huntington Place Elementary School
Northport
3–4 Regular 377 20.8 18.1 Suburb: Midsize
FaucettVestavia Elementary School
Northport
PK–4 Regular 343 23.0 14.9 Suburb: Midsize
CollinsRiverside Middle School
Northport
5–6 Regular 318 18.3 17.4 Suburb: Midsize
Westwood Elementary School
Coker
PK–4 Regular 299 21.8 13.7 Rural: Fringe
Myrtlewood Elementary School
Fosters
PK–4 Regular 280 20.0 14 Rural: Distant
Crestmont Elementary School
Northport
PK–4 Regular 268 20.0 13.4 Suburb: Midsize
Buhl Elementary School
Buhl
PK–4 Regular 206 15.2 13.6 Rural: Distant
Lloyd Wood Education Center
Northport
PK–12 Special Education 205 21.0 9.8 Suburb: Midsize
Tuscaloosa County Juvenile Detention Center
Tuscaloosa
7–12 Alternative Not reported Not reported — City: Midsize

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.