Limestone County
Public school district based in Athens, Alabama. NCES district ID 0102100; state ID AL-042.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 265 | |
| Kindergarten | 938 | |
| Grade 1 | 909 | |
| Grade 2 | 998 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,086 | |
| Grade 4 | 978 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,056 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,107 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,271 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,473 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,514 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,703 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,708 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,491 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.7% | |
| Asian | 0.6% | |
| Black or African American | 17.4% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 11.5% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 4.8% | |
| White | 64.9% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 50.8% | |
| Male | 49.2% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Town 1, Rural 15.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Connections Academy Athens | K–12 | Regular | 7,822 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| East Limestone High School Athens | 6–12 | Regular | 1,216 | 63.2 | 19.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Ardmore High School Ardmore | 6–12 | Regular | 964 | 48.0 | 20.1 | Rural: Distant |
| West Limestone High School Lester | 6–12 | Regular | 736 | 40.0 | 18.4 | Rural: Distant |
| Sugar Creek Elementary School Lester | PK–5 | Regular | 631 | 43.0 | 14.7 | Rural: Distant |
| Elkmont Elementary School Elkmont | PK–5 | Regular | 599 | 38.0 | 15.8 | Rural: Distant |
| Elkmont High School Elkmont | 6–12 | Regular | 597 | 37.0 | 16.1 | Rural: Distant |
| Cedar Hill Elementary School Ardmore | PK–5 | Regular | 576 | 41.0 | 14 | Rural: Distant |
| Blue Springs Elementary School Athens | PK–5 | Regular | 558 | 34.0 | 16.4 | Rural: Distant |
| Creekside Elementary School Harvest | 3–5 | Regular | 550 | 33.0 | 16.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Clements High School Athens | 6–12 | Regular | 525 | 31.5 | 16.7 | Rural: Distant |
| Creekside Primary School Harvest | PK–2 | Regular | 500 | 39.0 | 12.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Johnson Elementary School Athens | PK–5 | Regular | 475 | 27.1 | 17.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Tanner High School Tanner | 6–12 | Regular | 410 | 24.5 | 16.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Tanner Elementary School Tanner | PK–5 | Regular | 338 | 22.1 | 15.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Limestone County Area Vocational Technology Athens | 10–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | Town: Fringe |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Alabama: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.