SchoolScope USA

Public schools in Virginia

2,126 operating public schools in 209 school districts and other education agencies, school year 2024–25.

Operating schoolsDefinition
2,126
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
1,257,315
1,860 of 2,126 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
Not reported by the state
Only 1,998 of 2,126 schools reported teachers
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not reported by the state
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Largest districts by enrollment

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a quality ranking). 28 Virginia districts have full profiles so far; search all 209.

Largest school districts in VirginiaSum of school enrollment · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD
DistrictCitySchoolsStudentsStudents / FTE
Fairfax County Public SchoolsAlexandria223179,323—
Prince William County Public SchoolsWoodbridge9890,242—
Loudoun County Public SchoolsAshburn10281,486—
Virginia Beach City Public SchoolsVirginia Beach8864,731—
Chesterfield County Public SchoolsMidlothian7364,194—
Henrico County Public SchoolsRichmond7950,915—
Chesapeake City Public SchoolsChesapeake4840,607—
Stafford County Public SchoolsStafford3431,812—
Arlington County Public SchoolsArlington4227,950—
Norfolk City Public SchoolsNorfolk4926,807—
Newport News City Public SchoolsNewport News4325,882—
Spotsylvania County Public SchoolsSpotsylvania3424,036—
Richmond City Public SchoolsRichmond5720,962—
Hampton City Public SchoolsHampton3319,472—
Hanover County Public SchoolsMechanicsville2416,768—

Schools by locale

Operating schools by NCES locale, VirginiaVirginia · % of schools with a locale code · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25
GroupShareBar
City 23.8%
Suburb 37.0%
Town 8.1%
Rural 31.0%

Schools by level

Operating schools by school level, VirginiaVirginia · schools · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a
GroupSchoolsBar
Elementary 1,144
Middle 340
High 326
Not applicable 247
Prekindergarten 34
Other 30
Not reported 4
Secondary 1

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.