Spotsylvania County Public Schools
Public school district based in Spotsylvania, Virginia. NCES district ID 5103640; state ID VA-088.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 416 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,547 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,734 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,715 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,821 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,715 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,814 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,758 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,831 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,879 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,004 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,917 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,918 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,967 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 3.7% | |
| Black or African American | 19.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 25.5% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 8.8% | |
| White | 42.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.7% | |
| Male | 52.3% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 16, Rural 18.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Riverbend High Fredericksburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,913 | 111.4 | 17.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Massaponax High Fredericksburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,692 | 116.7 | 14.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Courtland High Fredericksburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,497 | 86.5 | 17.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Spotsylvania High Spotsylvania | PK–12 | Regular | 1,394 | 106.6 | 13.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chancellor High Fredericksburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,321 | 84.3 | 15.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Spotsylvania Middle Spotsylvania | 6–8 | Regular | 1,009 | 62.0 | 16.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Parkside Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 946 | 54.0 | 17.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chancellor Middle Fredericksburg | 6–8 | Regular | 799 | 61.0 | 13.1 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Cedar Forest Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 789 | 48.0 | 16.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Battlefield Middle Fredericksburg | 6–8 | Regular | 780 | 55.7 | 14 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Freedom Middle Fredericksburg | PK–8 | Regular | 763 | 61.0 | 12.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Courthouse Road Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 762 | 52.0 | 14.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Thornburg Middle Spotsylvania | 6–8 | Regular | 755 | 56.3 | 13.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Harrison Road Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 732 | 53.0 | 13.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Smith Station Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 715 | 43.0 | 16.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Ni River Middle Spotsylvania | 6–8 | Regular | 692 | 50.8 | 13.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Riverview Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 691 | 45.0 | 15.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Lee Hill Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 680 | 41.0 | 16.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Post Oak Middle Spotsylvania | 6–8 | Regular | 679 | 48.0 | 14.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Battlefield Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 665 | 40.0 | 16.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Brock Road Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 651 | 43.0 | 15.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Wilderness Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 647 | 45.0 | 14.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Spotsylvania Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 623 | 34.0 | 18.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Salem Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 573 | 42.0 | 13.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Courtland Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 548 | 37.0 | 14.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Spotswood Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 526 | 35.0 | 15 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Livingston Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 479 | 29.0 | 16.5 | Rural: Distant |
| Chancellor Elementary Fredericksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 440 | 25.0 | 17.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Berkeley Elementary Spotsylvania | PK–5 | Regular | 275 | 22.0 | 12.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| QUEST Alternative Education Program Spotsylvania | — | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Spotsylvania Career and Technical Center Spotsylvania | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 23.0 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Courthouse Academy Program Spotsylvania | — | Special Education | Not reported | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| John J. Wright Educational And Cultural Center Spotsylvania | — | Alternative | Not reported | 12.9 | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Gateway Academy Spotsylvania | — | Special Education | Not reported | 22.0 | — | Rural: Fringe |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.