Chesapeake City Public Schools
Public school district based in Chesapeake, Virginia. NCES district ID 5100810; state ID VA-136.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 823 | |
| Kindergarten | 2,607 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,788 | |
| Grade 2 | 2,880 | |
| Grade 3 | 3,053 | |
| Grade 4 | 3,049 | |
| Grade 5 | 2,937 | |
| Grade 6 | 2,998 | |
| Grade 7 | 3,213 | |
| Grade 8 | 3,096 | |
| Grade 9 | 3,408 | |
| Grade 10 | 3,328 | |
| Grade 11 | 3,227 | |
| Grade 12 | 3,200 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 3.2% | |
| Black or African American | 30.8% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 13.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 9.5% | |
| White | 42.2% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.7% | |
| Male | 51.3% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 41, Rural 7.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grassfield High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 2,345 | 155.3 | 15.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Oscar F. Smith High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 2,264 | 178.0 | 12.7 | City: Large |
| Western Branch High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 2,138 | 147.3 | 14.5 | City: Large |
| Deep Creek High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 1,691 | 121.4 | 13.9 | City: Large |
| Indian River High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 1,634 | 132.4 | 12.3 | City: Large |
| Hickory High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 1,600 | 111.4 | 14.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Great Bridge High Chesapeake | 9–12 | Regular | 1,491 | 113.0 | 13.2 | City: Large |
| Great Bridge Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 1,309 | 88.0 | 14.9 | City: Large |
| Grassfield Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 1,306 | 74.8 | 17.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Hugo A. Owens Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 1,286 | 98.9 | 13 | City: Large |
| Hickory Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 1,285 | 99.2 | 13 | Rural: Fringe |
| Cedar Road Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 988 | 55.0 | 18 | City: Large |
| Oscar Smith Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 967 | 93.9 | 10.3 | City: Large |
| Deep Creek Central Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 888 | 52.9 | 16.8 | City: Large |
| Western Branch Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 855 | 68.0 | 12.6 | City: Large |
| Southeastern Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 828 | 52.6 | 15.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| B.M. Williams Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 825 | 59.6 | 13.8 | City: Large |
| Georgetown Primary Chesapeake | PK–3 | Regular | 804 | 54.2 | 14.8 | City: Large |
| Western Branch Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 801 | 48.2 | 16.6 | City: Large |
| Western Branch Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 795 | 46.1 | 17.2 | City: Large |
| Greenbrier Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 788 | 66.6 | 11.8 | City: Large |
| Deep Creek Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 767 | 48.4 | 15.8 | City: Large |
| Deep Creek Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 764 | 65.6 | 11.6 | City: Large |
| Edwin W. Chittum Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 762 | 50.8 | 15 | City: Large |
| Jolliff Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 753 | 65.2 | 11.5 | City: Large |
| Indian River Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 743 | 70.2 | 10.6 | City: Large |
| Crestwood Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 736 | 45.3 | 16.2 | City: Large |
| Great Bridge Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 728 | 39.9 | 18.2 | City: Large |
| Hickory Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 695 | 38.6 | 18 | Rural: Fringe |
| Greenbrier Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 679 | 42.4 | 16 | City: Large |
| Greenbrier Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 657 | 37.1 | 17.7 | City: Large |
| Great Bridge Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 610 | 34.4 | 17.7 | City: Large |
| Butts Road Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 579 | 31.2 | 18.6 | City: Large |
| Crestwood Middle Chesapeake | 6–8 | Regular | 557 | 52.7 | 10.6 | City: Large |
| Southwestern Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 549 | 40.4 | 13.6 | City: Large |
| George W. Carver Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 535 | 38.7 | 13.8 | City: Large |
| Portlock Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 518 | 41.4 | 12.5 | City: Large |
| Butts Road Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 498 | 30.8 | 16.2 | City: Large |
| Camelot Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 491 | 38.0 | 12.9 | City: Large |
| G.A. Treakle Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 440 | 36.5 | 12.1 | City: Large |
| Sparrow Road Intermediate Chesapeake | 4–5 | Regular | 413 | 28.8 | 14.3 | City: Large |
| Thurgood Marshall Elementary Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 395 | 32.2 | 12.3 | City: Large |
| Rena B. Wright Primary Chesapeake | PK–2 | Regular | 300 | 24.0 | 12.5 | City: Large |
| Norfolk Highlands Primary Chesapeake | PK–3 | Regular | 294 | 22.8 | 12.9 | City: Large |
| Truitt Intermediate Chesapeake | 3–5 | Regular | 256 | 15.9 | 16.1 | City: Large |
| Chesapeake Career Center Chesapeake | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 10.2 | — | City: Large |
| Chesapeake Center for Student Success Chesapeake | — | Alternative | Not reported | 21.2 | — | City: Large |
| Grassfield High School Governor's STEM Academy Chesapeake | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.