Hanover County Public Schools
Public school district based in Mechanicsville, Virginia. NCES district ID 5101830; state ID VA-042.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 301 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,157 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,166 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,123 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,274 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,230 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,285 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,254 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,303 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,317 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,322 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,332 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,337 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,367 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 4.0% | |
| Black or African American | 8.9% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 8.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 7.0% | |
| White | 71.8% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.9% | |
| Male | 52.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 16, Rural 8.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlee High Mechanicsville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,470 | 96.6 | 15.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Hanover High Mechanicsville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,349 | 94.0 | 14.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Patrick Henry High Ashland | 9–12 | Regular | 1,294 | 96.5 | 13.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Mechanicsville High Mechanicsville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,245 | 96.7 | 12.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Chickahominy Middle Mechanicsville | 6–8 | Regular | 1,199 | 83.0 | 14.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Liberty Middle Ashland | 6–8 | Regular | 910 | 71.0 | 12.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Bell Creek Middle Mechanicsville | 6–8 | Regular | 903 | 77.2 | 11.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Oak Knoll Middle Mechanicsville | 6–8 | Regular | 862 | 71.9 | 12 | Suburb: Large |
| Cool Spring Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 852 | 56.0 | 15.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Ashland Elementary Ashland | PK–5 | Regular | 675 | 57.0 | 11.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Kersey Creek Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 672 | 47.0 | 14.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Rural Point Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 627 | 43.0 | 14.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Laurel Meadow Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 591 | 45.0 | 13.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Mechanicsville Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 572 | 45.0 | 12.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Pearson's Corner Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 571 | 40.0 | 14.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Pole Green Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 527 | 39.0 | 13.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Cold Harbor Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 495 | 41.0 | 12.1 | Suburb: Large |
| South Anna Elementary Montpelier | PK–5 | Regular | 439 | 32.0 | 13.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Battlefield Park Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 407 | 32.0 | 12.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Washington-Henry Elementary Mechanicsville | PK–5 | Regular | 386 | 30.0 | 12.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Elmont Elementary Ashland | PK–5 | Regular | 383 | 31.0 | 12.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Beaverdam Elementary Beaverdam | PK–5 | Regular | 339 | 24.0 | 14.1 | Rural: Distant |
| The Georgetown School Mechanicsville | — | Alternative | Not reported | 9.0 | — | Suburb: Large |
| The Hanover Center For Trades And Technology Mechanicsville | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 9.0 | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.