Norfolk City Public Schools
Public school district based in Norfolk, Virginia. NCES district ID 5102670; state ID VA-118.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,669 | |
| Kindergarten | 2,094 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,091 | |
| Grade 2 | 2,122 | |
| Grade 3 | 2,093 | |
| Grade 4 | 2,024 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,862 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,863 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,847 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,853 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,228 | |
| Grade 10 | 2,112 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,453 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,496 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 1.8% | |
| Black or African American | 55.2% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 15.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 7.2% | |
| White | 19.5% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.2% | |
| Male | 50.8% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 49.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Granby High Norfolk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,980 | 116.0 | 17.1 | City: Midsize |
| Matthew Fontaine Maury High Norfolk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,713 | 108.0 | 15.9 | City: Midsize |
| Norview High Norfolk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,585 | 120.0 | 13.2 | City: Midsize |
| Norview Middle Norfolk | 6–8 | Regular | 1,196 | 81.0 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Blair Middle Norfolk | 6–8 | Regular | 1,141 | 77.0 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Lake Taylor High Norfolk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,107 | 75.0 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Booker T Washington High Norfolk | 9–12 | Regular | 904 | 75.0 | 12.1 | City: Midsize |
| Azalea Gardens Middle Norfolk | 6–8 | Regular | 792 | 52.0 | 15.2 | City: Midsize |
| Crossroads PreK-8 School Norfolk | PK–8 | Regular | 790 | 68.0 | 11.6 | City: Midsize |
| Academy for Discovery at Lakewood Norfolk | 3–8 | Regular | 739 | 50.0 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Northside Middle Norfolk | 6–8 | Regular | 732 | 54.0 | 13.6 | City: Midsize |
| Southside STEM Academy at Campostella Norfolk | K–8 | Regular | 686 | 57.0 | 12 | City: Midsize |
| Lake Taylor Norfolk | K–8 | Regular | 664 | 64.0 | 10.4 | City: Midsize |
| Jacox Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 596 | 44.0 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Larrymore Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 584 | 38.0 | 15.4 | City: Midsize |
| Little Creek Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 583 | 45.0 | 13 | City: Midsize |
| Ruffner School Norfolk | 3–8 | Regular | 576 | 47.0 | 12.3 | City: Midsize |
| Ingleside Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 574 | 41.0 | 14 | City: Midsize |
| Coleman Place Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 551 | 42.0 | 13.1 | City: Midsize |
| Tanners Creek Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 517 | 40.0 | 12.9 | City: Midsize |
| Ocean View Elementary Norfolk | K–5 | Regular | 512 | 38.0 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Ghent K-8 Norfolk | K–8 | Regular | 501 | 36.0 | 13.9 | City: Midsize |
| Bay View Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 500 | 35.0 | 14.3 | City: Midsize |
| Sewells Point Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 495 | 37.0 | 13.4 | City: Midsize |
| Richard Bowling Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 492 | 42.0 | 11.7 | City: Midsize |
| Granby Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 464 | 37.0 | 12.5 | City: Midsize |
| Larchmont Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 455 | 28.0 | 16.3 | City: Midsize |
| Willard Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 441 | 39.0 | 11.3 | City: Midsize |
| Suburban Park Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 415 | 32.0 | 13 | City: Midsize |
| Norview Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 412 | 31.0 | 13.3 | City: Midsize |
| Sherwood Forest Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 406 | 33.0 | 12.3 | City: Midsize |
| Camp Allen Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 405 | 30.0 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Mary Calcott Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 404 | 28.0 | 14.4 | City: Midsize |
| Walter Herron Taylor Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 403 | 26.0 | 15.5 | City: Midsize |
| Oceanair Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 400 | 31.0 | 12.9 | City: Midsize |
| Chesterfield Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 325 | 28.0 | 11.6 | City: Midsize |
| James Monroe Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 299 | 27.0 | 11.1 | City: Midsize |
| Tarrallton Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 286 | 22.0 | 13 | City: Midsize |
| Lindenwood Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 243 | 22.0 | 11 | City: Midsize |
| P.B. Young Sr. Elementary Norfolk | PK–2 | Regular | 241 | 19.0 | 12.7 | City: Midsize |
| St. Helena Elementary Norfolk | PK–5 | Regular | 229 | 19.0 | 12.1 | City: Midsize |
| Willoughby Early Childhood Center Norfolk | PK | Regular | 181 | 19.0 | 9.5 | City: Midsize |
| Berkley/Campostella Early Childhood Education Center Norfolk | PK | Regular | 165 | 15.0 | 11 | City: Midsize |
| Easton Preschool at Fairlawn Norfolk | PK | Regular | 123 | 20.0 | 6.2 | City: Midsize |
| Norfolk Technical Center Norfolk | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 28.0 | — | City: Midsize |
| Madison Alternative Center Norfolk | — | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| The Academy of International Studies at Rosemont Norfolk | — | Alternative | Not reported | 25.0 | — | City: Midsize |
| Norfolk Alternative High Norfolk | — | Alternative | Not reported | 10.0 | — | City: Midsize |
| Norfolk Alternative Middle Norfolk | — | Alternative | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.