SchoolScope USA

Public schools in Arizona

2,432 operating public schools in 656 school districts and other education agencies, school year 2024–25.

Operating schoolsDefinition
2,432
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
1,102,246
2,429 of 2,432 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
Not reported by the state
Only 1,979 of 2,432 schools reported teachers
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not reported by the state
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Largest districts by enrollment

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a quality ranking). 29 Arizona districts have full profiles so far; search all 656.

Largest school districts in ArizonaSum of school enrollment · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD
DistrictCitySchoolsStudentsStudents / FTE
Mesa Unified District (4235)Mesa8255,821—
Chandler Unified District #80 (4242)Chandler4841,42117.6
Tucson Unified District (4403)Tucson9040,316—
Peoria Unified School District (4237)Peoria4434,436—
Deer Valley Unified District (4246)Glendale4132,26516.8
Gilbert Unified District (4239)Gilbert3831,56016.5
Paradise Valley Unified District (4241)Phoenix4526,183—
Phoenix Union High School District (4286)Phoenix2125,800—
Dysart Unified District (4243)Surprise2423,07820
Scottsdale Unified District (4240)Scottsdale3020,68216.3
Washington Elementary School District (4260)Phoenix3318,816—
Glendale Union High School District (4285)Phoenix1116,040—
American Leadership Academy Inc. (4348)Gilbert1415,29113
Queen Creek Unified District (4245)Queen Creek1515,06520.5
Vail Unified District (4413)Tucson2415,011—

Schools by locale

Operating schools by NCES locale, ArizonaArizona · % of schools with a locale code · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25
GroupShareBar
City 52.0%
Suburb 18.0%
Town 9.5%
Rural 20.6%

Schools by level

Operating schools by school level, ArizonaArizona · schools · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a
GroupSchoolsBar
Elementary 1,221
High 783
Middle 217
Other 160
Prekindergarten 50
Secondary 1

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.