SchoolScope USA

Suffolk City Public Schools

Public school district based in Suffolk, Virginia. NCES district ID 5103710; state ID VA-127.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
14,565
19 of 22 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
996.6
21 of 22 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Suffolk City Public SchoolsSuffolk City Public Schools, Virginia · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 546
Kindergarten 1,048
Grade 1 1,061
Grade 2 1,063
Grade 3 1,156
Grade 4 1,052
Grade 5 1,063
Grade 6 1,030
Grade 7 1,063
Grade 8 1,069
Grade 9 1,188
Grade 10 1,107
Grade 11 1,114
Grade 12 1,005

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Suffolk City Public SchoolsSuffolk City Public Schools, Virginia · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 1.4%
Black or African American 54.7%
Hispanic/Latino 8.9%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or more races 7.6%
White 26.9%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Suffolk City Public SchoolsSuffolk City Public Schools, Virginia · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.6%
Male 51.4%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 3, Town 9, Rural 10.

Operating public schools, Suffolk City Public SchoolsVirginia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
King's Fork High
Suffolk
9–12 Regular 1,686 104.0 16.2 Town: Fringe
Nansemond River High
Suffolk
9–12 Regular 1,683 108.9 15.5 Town: Fringe
Lakeland High
Suffolk
9–12 Regular 1,045 85.5 12.2 Rural: Fringe
King's Fork Middle
Suffolk
6–8 Regular 986 72.0 13.7 Rural: Fringe
Florence Bowser Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 926 44.0 21 Rural: Fringe
Northern Shores Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 798 41.0 19.5 Suburb: Large
Hillpoint Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 780 39.0 20 Town: Fringe
Creekside Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 764 47.0 16.3 Suburb: Large
Colonel Fred Cherry Middle
Suffolk
6–8 Regular 736 62.9 11.7 Suburb: Large
Mack Benn Jr. Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 713 44.0 16.2 Town: Fringe
Elephant's Fork Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 653 36.0 18.1 Town: Fringe
Southwestern Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 579 31.0 18.7 Rural: Distant
John Yeates Middle
Suffolk
6–8 Regular 509 51.0 10 Rural: Fringe
John F. Kennedy Middle
Suffolk
6–8 Regular 498 54.9 9.1 Town: Fringe
Kilby Shores Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 494 29.0 17 Town: Fringe
Oakland Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 464 26.0 17.8 Rural: Fringe
Nansemond Parkway Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 456 29.0 15.7 Rural: Fringe
Forest Glen Middle
Suffolk
6–8 Regular 433 35.0 12.4 Town: Fringe
Booker T. Washington Elementary
Suffolk
PK–5 Regular 362 25.0 14.5 Town: Fringe
Turlington Woods Alternative
Suffolk
— Alternative Not reported 15.0 — Rural: Fringe
The College and Career Academy at Pruden
Suffolk
— Career and Technical Not reported 16.5 — Rural: Fringe
FIRST Academy
Suffolk
— Career and Technical Not reported Not reported — Rural: Fringe

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.