Roanoke County Public Schools
Public school district based in Roanoke, Virginia. NCES district ID 5103330; state ID VA-080.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 295 | |
| Kindergarten | 882 | |
| Grade 1 | 941 | |
| Grade 2 | 941 | |
| Grade 3 | 987 | |
| Grade 4 | 975 | |
| Grade 5 | 953 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,088 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,066 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,056 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,188 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,149 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,109 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,105 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 4.7% | |
| Black or African American | 8.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 9.6% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 6.6% | |
| White | 70.5% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.0% | |
| Male | 52.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 1, Suburb 22, Rural 6.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| William Byrd High Vinton | 9–12 | Regular | 1,134 | 73.4 | 15.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Cave Spring High Roanoke | 9–12 | Regular | 1,046 | 67.2 | 15.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Northside High Roanoke | 9–12 | Regular | 919 | 61.5 | 14.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Hidden Valley High Roanoke | 9–12 | Regular | 832 | 54.9 | 15.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| William Byrd Middle Vinton | 6–8 | Regular | 802 | 58.3 | 13.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Cave Spring Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 746 | 53.8 | 13.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Northside Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 648 | 47.8 | 13.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Glenvar High Salem | 9–12 | Regular | 620 | 38.6 | 16 | Rural: Fringe |
| Hidden Valley Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 581 | 42.6 | 13.6 | City: Small |
| Burlington Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 530 | 36.5 | 14.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Cave Spring Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 489 | 31.5 | 15.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| W.E. Cundiff Elementary Vinton | PK–5 | Regular | 486 | 37.5 | 13 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Green Valley Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 483 | 34.5 | 14 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Glenvar Middle Salem | 6–8 | Regular | 433 | 36.3 | 11.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Glen Cove Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 425 | 29.5 | 14.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Penn Forest Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 408 | 27.5 | 14.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Oak Grove Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 400 | 31.5 | 12.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Herman L. Horn Elementary Vinton | PK–5 | Regular | 399 | 35.5 | 11.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mountain View Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 377 | 31.5 | 12 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Glenvar Elementary Salem | PK–5 | Regular | 372 | 25.5 | 14.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Clearbrook Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 320 | 23.5 | 13.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Bonsack Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 311 | 24.5 | 12.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Back Creek Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 274 | 19.5 | 14.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Fort Lewis Elementary Salem | PK–5 | Regular | 250 | 17.5 | 14.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mount Pleasant Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 246 | 22.5 | 10.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mason's Cove Elementary Salem | PK–5 | Regular | 204 | 21.5 | 9.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Burton Center for Arts and Technology Salem | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 16.1 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Governor's STEM Academy at the Burton Center for Arts and Te Salem | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | 2.5 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Alternative Secondary Transition Educational Program Roanoke | — | Alternative | Not reported | 3.0 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.