Roanoke City Public Schools
Public school district based in Roanoke, Virginia. NCES district ID 5103300; state ID VA-124.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 566 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,041 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,041 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,007 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,071 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,094 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,076 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,013 | |
| Grade 7 | 952 | |
| Grade 8 | 963 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,242 | |
| Grade 10 | 992 | |
| Grade 11 | 918 | |
| Grade 12 | 835 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 3.3% | |
| Black or African American | 38.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 22.8% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 6.6% | |
| White | 28.6% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.9% | |
| Male | 51.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 26.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patrick Henry High Roanoke | 9–12 | Regular | 2,030 | 146.0 | 13.9 | City: Small |
| William Fleming High Roanoke | 9–12 | Regular | 1,957 | 129.7 | 15.1 | City: Small |
| Breckinridge Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 733 | 53.6 | 13.7 | City: Small |
| Round Hill Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 720 | 60.2 | 12 | City: Small |
| Westside Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 624 | 54.1 | 11.5 | City: Small |
| Woodrow Wilson Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 601 | 50.5 | 11.9 | City: Small |
| James Madison Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 598 | 42.2 | 14.2 | City: Small |
| Fallon Park Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 591 | 50.4 | 11.7 | City: Small |
| Addison Aerospace Magnet Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 540 | 48.0 | 11.3 | City: Small |
| Preston Park Elementary Roanoke | K–5 | Regular | 535 | 37.3 | 14.3 | City: Small |
| Monterey Elementary Roanoke | K–5 | Regular | 508 | 36.0 | 14.1 | City: Small |
| Fairview Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 479 | 39.6 | 12.1 | City: Small |
| Roanoke Academy For Mathematics & Science Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 464 | 44.1 | 10.5 | City: Small |
| John P. Fishwick Middle Roanoke | 6–8 | Regular | 456 | 36.4 | 12.5 | City: Small |
| Highland Park Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 362 | 30.5 | 11.9 | City: Small |
| Grandin Court Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 331 | 26.8 | 12.3 | City: Small |
| Crystal Spring Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 323 | 21.5 | 15 | City: Small |
| Hurt Park Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 321 | 33.9 | 9.5 | City: Small |
| Garden City Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 302 | 32.7 | 9.2 | City: Small |
| Lincoln Terrace Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 287 | 27.2 | 10.5 | City: Small |
| Fishburn Park Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 279 | 27.7 | 10.1 | City: Small |
| Morningside Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 278 | 22.9 | 12.1 | City: Small |
| Wasena Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 247 | 18.6 | 13.3 | City: Small |
| Virginia Heights Elementary Roanoke | PK–5 | Regular | 245 | 23.8 | 10.3 | City: Small |
| Noel C. Taylor Academy At Oakland Roanoke | — | Alternative | Not reported | 21.9 | — | City: Small |
| Forest Park Academy Roanoke | — | Alternative | Not reported | 14.6 | — | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.