Montgomery County Public Schools
Public school district based in Christiansburg, Virginia. NCES district ID 5102520; state ID VA-060.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 220 | |
| Kindergarten | 609 | |
| Grade 1 | 651 | |
| Grade 2 | 627 | |
| Grade 3 | 677 | |
| Grade 4 | 732 | |
| Grade 5 | 663 | |
| Grade 6 | 730 | |
| Grade 7 | 772 | |
| Grade 8 | 736 | |
| Grade 9 | 777 | |
| Grade 10 | 731 | |
| Grade 11 | 769 | |
| Grade 12 | 767 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 4.5% | |
| Black or African American | 4.3% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 9.2% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 6.2% | |
| White | 75.9% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.2% | |
| Male | 51.8% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 13, Suburb 1, Rural 7.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blacksburg High Blacksburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,325 | 88.0 | 15.1 | City: Small |
| Christiansburg High Christiansburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,072 | 80.3 | 13.3 | City: Small |
| Blacksburg Middle Blacksburg | 6–8 | Regular | 958 | 73.4 | 13.1 | City: Small |
| Christiansburg Middle Christiansburg | 6–8 | Regular | 778 | 64.2 | 12.1 | City: Small |
| Auburn Elementary Riner | PK–5 | Regular | 544 | 40.8 | 13.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Falling Branch Elementary Christiansburg | PK–5 | Regular | 535 | 43.8 | 12.2 | City: Small |
| Prices Fork Elementary Blacksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 457 | 34.0 | 13.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Christiansburg Elementary Christiansburg | 3–5 | Regular | 401 | 31.0 | 12.9 | City: Small |
| Auburn High Riner | 9–12 | Regular | 393 | 32.3 | 12.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Eastern Montgomery Elementary Elliston | PK–5 | Regular | 376 | 29.0 | 13 | Rural: Distant |
| Kipps Elementary Blacksburg | K–5 | Regular | 358 | 26.0 | 13.8 | City: Small |
| Christiansburg Primary Christiansburg | PK–2 | Regular | 346 | 28.0 | 12.4 | City: Small |
| Margaret Beeks Elementary Blacksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 346 | 26.0 | 13.3 | City: Small |
| Auburn Middle Riner | 6–8 | Regular | 309 | 26.6 | 11.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Gilbert Linkous Elementary Blacksburg | PK–5 | Regular | 292 | 24.0 | 12.2 | City: Small |
| Harding Avenue Elementary Blacksburg | K–5 | Regular | 279 | 21.2 | 13.2 | City: Small |
| Eastern Montgomery High Elliston | 9–12 | Regular | 254 | 25.8 | 9.8 | Rural: Distant |
| Belview Elementary Radford | PK–5 | Regular | 245 | 22.2 | 11 | Rural: Fringe |
| Shawsville Middle Shawsville | 6–8 | Regular | 193 | 25.6 | 7.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Montgomery Central Christiansburg | — | Alternative | Not reported | 11.4 | — | City: Small |
| Montgomery County Governor's STEM Academy Christiansburg | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.