Alexandria City Public Schools
Public school district based in Alexandria, Virginia. NCES district ID 5100120; state ID VA-101.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 598 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,337 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,408 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,325 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,359 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,237 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,207 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,229 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,121 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,099 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,279 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,238 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,037 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,101 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 6.6% | |
| Black or African American | 23.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 38.0% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.3% | |
| Two or more races | 4.8% | |
| White | 26.6% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.3% | |
| Male | 51.7% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 19.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexandria City High Alexandria | 9–12 | Regular | 4,655 | 305.8 | 15.2 | City: Midsize |
| Francis C. Hammond Middle Alexandria | 6–8 | Regular | 1,597 | 120.0 | 13.3 | City: Midsize |
| George Washington Middle Alexandria | 6–8 | Regular | 1,458 | 103.0 | 14.2 | City: Midsize |
| Patrick Henry K-8 School Alexandria | PK–8 | Regular | 1,075 | 60.0 | 17.9 | City: Midsize |
| Mount Vernon Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 933 | 51.5 | 18.1 | City: Midsize |
| James K. Polk Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 804 | 47.5 | 16.9 | City: Midsize |
| John Adams Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 743 | 49.4 | 15 | City: Midsize |
| Samuel W. Tucker Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 735 | 43.0 | 17.1 | City: Midsize |
| William Ramsay Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 689 | 45.0 | 15.3 | City: Midsize |
| Douglas MacArthur Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 680 | 42.8 | 15.9 | City: Midsize |
| Ferdinand T. Day Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 589 | 36.0 | 16.4 | City: Midsize |
| Charles Barrett Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 547 | 38.0 | 14.4 | City: Midsize |
| Jefferson-Houston PK-8 School Alexandria | PK–8 | Regular | 506 | 48.5 | 10.4 | City: Midsize |
| Lyles-Crouch Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 378 | 24.0 | 15.8 | City: Midsize |
| Cora Kelly School for Math Science and Technology Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 337 | 22.9 | 14.7 | City: Midsize |
| George Mason Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 332 | 23.5 | 14.1 | City: Midsize |
| Naomi L. Brooks Elementary Alexandria | PK–5 | Regular | 319 | 21.3 | 15 | City: Midsize |
| Early Childhood Center Alexandria | PK | Regular | 198 | 16.2 | 12.2 | City: Midsize |
| Governor's Health Science Academy at T.C. Williams High Alexandria | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.