Albemarle County Public Schools
Public school district based in Charlottesville, Virginia. NCES district ID 5100090; state ID VA-002.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 343 | |
| Kindergarten | 961 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,015 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,088 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,102 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,029 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,073 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,013 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,001 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,015 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,084 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,152 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,125 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,148 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 6.6% | |
| Black or African American | 11.8% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 17.5% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 7.2% | |
| White | 56.9% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.4% | |
| Male | 51.6% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 2, Suburb 8, Town 3, Rural 12.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albemarle High Charlottesville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,964 | 130.2 | 15.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Western Albemarle High Crozet | 9–12 | Regular | 1,273 | 79.7 | 16 | Rural: Fringe |
| Monticello High Charlottesville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,184 | 83.8 | 14.1 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Joseph T. Henley Middle Crozet | 6–8 | Regular | 847 | 56.9 | 14.9 | Town: Fringe |
| Mountain View Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 769 | 57.2 | 13.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Baker-Butler Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 692 | 49.0 | 14.1 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Journey Middle Charlottesville | 6–8 | Regular | 646 | 51.6 | 12.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Lakeside Middle Charlottesville | 6–8 | Regular | 574 | 39.0 | 14.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Crozet Elementary Crozet | PK–5 | Regular | 571 | 37.4 | 15.3 | Town: Fringe |
| Jackson P. Burley Middle Charlottesville | 6–8 | Regular | 534 | 43.3 | 12.3 | City: Small |
| Brownsville Elementary Crozet | PK–5 | Regular | 530 | 39.3 | 13.5 | Town: Fringe |
| Agnor Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 523 | 38.5 | 13.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Woodbrook Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 522 | 42.5 | 12.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mary Carr Greer Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 520 | 43.8 | 11.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Stone Robinson Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 476 | 35.0 | 13.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Hollymead Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 452 | 33.0 | 13.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Ivy Elementary Charlottesville | K–5 | Regular | 358 | 24.3 | 14.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Leslie H. Walton Middle Charlottesville | 6–8 | Regular | 339 | 33.0 | 10.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Broadus Wood Elementary Earlysville | PK–5 | Regular | 282 | 22.3 | 12.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Virginia L. Murray Elementary Charlottesville | PK–5 | Regular | 273 | 20.2 | 13.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Stony Point Elementary Keswick | PK–5 | Regular | 217 | 17.0 | 12.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Scottsville Elementary Scottsville | PK–5 | Regular | 216 | 16.5 | 13.1 | Rural: Distant |
| Red Hill Elementary North Garden | PK–5 | Regular | 210 | 17.5 | 12 | Rural: Fringe |
| Community Lab SchoolCharter Charlottesville | 6–12 | Regular | 177 | 18.2 | 9.7 | City: Small |
| Monticello Governor's Health Sciences Academy Charlottesville | — | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.