SchoolScope USA

Paterson Public School District

Public school district based in Paterson, New Jersey. NCES district ID 3412690; state ID NJ-314010.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
21,372
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,682.8
42 of 43 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Paterson Public School DistrictPaterson Public School District, New Jersey · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 827
Kindergarten 1,393
Grade 1 1,554
Grade 2 1,642
Grade 3 1,728
Grade 4 1,686
Grade 5 1,710
Grade 6 1,627
Grade 7 1,724
Grade 8 1,783
Grade 9 1,434
Grade 10 1,421
Grade 11 1,445
Grade 12 1,398

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Paterson Public School DistrictPaterson Public School District, New Jersey · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native Suppressed
Asian 6.3%
Black or African American 16.1%
Hispanic/Latino 72.3%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 0.3%
White 5.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Paterson Public School DistrictPaterson Public School District, New Jersey · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 43.

Operating public schools, Paterson Public School DistrictNew Jersey · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Eastside High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 2,073 130.0 15.9 Suburb: Large
John F. Kennedy High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 1,846 138.0 13.4 Suburb: Large
Joseph A. Taub School
Paterson
6–8 Regular 976 56.6 17.3 Suburb: Large
School 16
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 813 54.2 15 Suburb: Large
School 5
Paterson
K–5 Regular 753 58.0 13 Suburb: Large
Charles J. Riley/ School 9
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 682 59.0 11.6 Suburb: Large
School 24
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 668 54.1 12.3 Suburb: Large
School 21
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 665 43.0 15.5 Suburb: Large
International High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 650 52.0 12.5 Suburb: Large
School 27
Paterson
PK–5 Regular 641 48.0 13.4 Suburb: Large
Senator Frank Lautenberg School
Paterson
K–8 Regular 605 36.0 16.8 Suburb: Large
School 18
Paterson
1–8 Regular 601 59.5 10.1 Suburb: Large
School 15
Paterson
PK–5 Regular 577 49.5 11.7 Suburb: Large
Dr. Hani Awadallah School
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 575 50.0 11.5 Suburb: Large
School 25
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 526 42.5 12.4 Suburb: Large
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Educational Complex
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 513 48.5 10.6 Suburb: Large
School 13
Paterson
K–8 Regular 499 36.0 13.9 Suburb: Large
Rev. Dr. Frank Napier Jr. School
Paterson
1–8 Regular 491 38.0 12.9 Suburb: Large
School 10
Paterson
K–8 Regular 474 34.0 13.9 Suburb: Large
School 12
Paterson
K–8 Regular 474 41.0 11.6 Suburb: Large
New Roberto Clemente
Paterson
6–8 Regular 473 45.0 10.5 Suburb: Large
School 2
Paterson
K–8 Regular 473 40.5 11.7 Suburb: Large
School 28
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 463 38.5 12 Suburb: Large
Alexander Hamilton Academy
Paterson
K–8 Regular 439 32.0 13.7 Suburb: Large
School 26
Paterson
PK–8 Regular 419 31.0 13.5 Suburb: Large
School 8
Paterson
K–8 Regular 411 35.0 11.7 Suburb: Large
Paterson STEAM High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 379 32.0 11.8 Suburb: Large
School 20
Paterson
K–8 Regular 343 37.0 9.3 Suburb: Large
Edward W. Kilpatrick
Paterson
PK–3 Regular 295 25.5 11.6 Suburb: Large
School 19
Paterson
K–4 Regular 288 23.0 12.5 Suburb: Large
Norman S. Weir
Paterson
K–8 Regular 272 27.0 10.1 Suburb: Large
Rosa L. Parks School of Fine and Performing Arts
Paterson
9–12 Regular 258 26.0 9.9 Suburb: Large
Roberto Clemente
Paterson
K–5 Regular 254 20.5 12.4 Suburb: Large
School 7
Paterson
K–5 Regular 250 22.0 11.4 Suburb: Large
Dale Avenue
Paterson
PK–2 Regular 228 23.0 9.9 Suburb: Large
School 1
Paterson
K–5 Regular 217 21.0 10.3 Suburb: Large
Paterson P-TECH High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 193 16.0 12.1 Suburb: Large
School 3
Paterson
K–8 Regular 167 18.0 9.3 Suburb: Large
Students Transitioning and Achieving Real Success
Paterson
9–12 Special Education 112 8.0 14 Suburb: Large
Newcomers High School
Paterson
9–12 Regular 106 6.0 17.7 Suburb: Large
Anna Iandoli Early Learning Center
Paterson
PK Regular 99 Not reported — Suburb: Large
Alternative High School
Paterson
9–12 Alternative 81 21.0 3.9 Suburb: Large
Young Men's Academy
Paterson
3–8 Regular 50 7.0 7.1 Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in New Jersey: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.