SchoolScope USA

Jersey City Public Schools

Public school district based in Jersey City, New Jersey. NCES district ID 3407830; state ID NJ-172390.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
24,151
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
2,060.5
38 of 39 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Jersey City Public SchoolsJersey City Public Schools, New Jersey · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 2,267
Kindergarten 1,859
Grade 1 1,931
Grade 2 1,826
Grade 3 1,834
Grade 4 1,723
Grade 5 1,692
Grade 6 1,656
Grade 7 1,649
Grade 8 1,657
Grade 9 1,870
Grade 10 1,372
Grade 11 1,317
Grade 12 1,498

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Jersey City Public SchoolsJersey City Public Schools, New Jersey · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native Suppressed
Asian 18.1%
Black or African American 23.7%
Hispanic/Latino 38.6%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.8%
Two or more races 1.9%
White 16.9%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Jersey City Public SchoolsJersey City Public Schools, New Jersey · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 39.

Operating public schools, Jersey City Public SchoolsNew Jersey · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
William L Dickinson High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 1,786 130.0 13.7 City: Large
James J Ferris High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 1,364 99.5 13.7 City: Large
Cornelia F. Bradford School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 1,082 55.0 19.7 City: Large
Joseph H. Brensinger School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 926 95.0 9.7 City: Large
Christa McAuliffe School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 906 75.0 12.1 City: Large
Franklin L. Williams School
Jersey City
6–8 Regular 906 73.0 12.4 City: Large
Mahatma K. Gandhi School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 821 81.5 10.1 City: Large
Rafael Cordero y Molina
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 794 74.0 10.7 City: Large
Lincoln High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 767 60.5 12.7 City: Large
Middle School # 4
Jersey City
6–8 Regular 755 47.0 16.1 City: Large
Martin Luther King Jr. School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 752 64.5 11.7 City: Large
Henry Snyder High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 729 84.0 8.7 City: Large
Dr Ronald McNair High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 716 54.5 13.1 City: Large
Charles E. Trefurt School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 668 69.0 9.7 City: Large
Dr. Michael Conti School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 651 56.9 11.4 City: Large
James F. Murray School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 642 47.0 13.7 City: Large
Alexander D. Sullivan School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 638 53.5 11.9 City: Large
Alfred Zampella School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 629 58.0 10.8 City: Large
Whitney M. Young Jr. School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 623 58.0 10.7 City: Large
Jotham W. Wakeman School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 617 55.9 11 City: Large
Rev. Dr. Ercel F. Webb School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 613 68.6 8.9 City: Large
Dr. Maya Angelou Elementary School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 607 44.0 13.8 City: Large
Frank R Conwell School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 605 51.1 11.8 City: Large
Chaplain Charles Watters School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 586 51.5 11.4 City: Large
Patricia M. Noonan School PS #26
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 539 55.0 9.8 City: Large
Nicolaus Copernicus School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 497 47.0 10.6 City: Large
Julia A. Barnes School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 433 32.5 13.3 City: Large
President Barack Obama Elementary School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 425 35.0 12.1 City: Large
Academy I
Jersey City
6–8 Regular 415 30.5 13.6 City: Large
Martin Center for the Arts
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 359 34.0 10.6 City: Large
Ollie Culbreth Jr. School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 335 38.0 8.8 City: Large
Dr. Charles P. DeFuccio School
Jersey City
PK–8 Regular 320 39.0 8.2 City: Large
Dr. Paul Rafalides School
Jersey City
PK–4 Regular 318 28.5 11.2 City: Large
Innovation High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 301 Not reported — City: Large
Infinity Institute
Jersey City
6–12 Regular 265 24.0 11 City: Large
Gladys Nunery School
Jersey City
PK–5 Regular 251 23.0 10.9 City: Large
Ezra L. Nolan School
Jersey City
6–8 Regular 250 31.0 8.1 City: Large
Liberty High School
Jersey City
9–12 Regular 193 25.0 7.7 City: Large
Regional Day School
Jersey City
PK–12 Special Education 67 11.0 6.1 City: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in New Jersey: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.