SchoolScope USA

Elizabeth Public Schools

Public school district based in Elizabeth, New Jersey. NCES district ID 3404590; state ID NJ-391320.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
27,580
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
2,067.5
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
13.3
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Elizabeth Public SchoolsElizabeth Public Schools, New Jersey · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 2,512
Kindergarten 1,754
Grade 1 1,918
Grade 2 1,833
Grade 3 1,954
Grade 4 1,933
Grade 5 1,854
Grade 6 1,922
Grade 7 1,912
Grade 8 1,944
Grade 9 2,137
Grade 10 2,101
Grade 11 1,915
Grade 12 1,891

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Elizabeth Public SchoolsElizabeth Public Schools, New Jersey · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.1%
Asian 1.5%
Black or African American 14.8%
Hispanic/Latino 77.2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or more races Suppressed
White 6.3%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Elizabeth Public SchoolsElizabeth Public Schools, New Jersey · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.6%
Male 50.4%
Not Specified 0.1%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 37.

Operating public schools, Elizabeth Public SchoolsNew Jersey · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
John E. Dwyer Technology Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 1,348 93.5 14.4 Suburb: Large
Admiral William F. Halsey Jr. Health & Public Safety Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 1,272 87.0 14.6 Suburb: Large
Elizabeth High School - Frank J Cicarell Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 1,268 70.0 18.1 Suburb: Large
Thomas Jefferson Arts Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 1,144 79.0 14.5 Suburb: Large
William F. Halloran School No.22
Elizabeth
2–8 Regular 1,140 79.5 14.3 Suburb: Large
Terence C. Reilly School No 7
Elizabeth
2–8 Regular 1,130 80.0 14.1 Suburb: Large
Alexander Hamilton Preparatory Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 1,015 63.0 16.1 Suburb: Large
Toussaint L'Ouverture-Marquis de Lafayette School No. 6
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 1,001 81.0 12.4 Suburb: Large
Dr. Antonia Pantoja School No. 27
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 934 64.5 14.5 Suburb: Large
Juan Pablo Duarte - Jose Julian Marti School No 28
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 878 73.0 12 Suburb: Large
Jerome Dunn Academy No 9
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 856 59.5 14.4 Suburb: Large
Thomas A. Edison Career and Technical Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 842 59.0 14.3 Suburb: Large
Abraham Lincoln School No. 14
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 793 65.5 12.1 Suburb: Large
Dr. Albert Einstein Academy School No. 29
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 785 61.0 12.9 Suburb: Large
Mabel G. Holmes School No. 5
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 767 68.0 11.3 Suburb: Large
Nicholas S. Lacorte-Peterstown School No. 3
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 765 59.5 12.9 Suburb: Large
Joseph Battin School No 4
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 757 67.5 11.2 Suburb: Large
K. Johnson D. Vaughan and M. Jackson STEM Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 740 43.0 17.2 Suburb: Large
Chessie Dentley Roberts Academy School No. 30
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 729 54.0 13.5 Suburb: Large
Dr. Orlando Edreira Academy School No. 26
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 718 62.0 11.6 Suburb: Large
Christopher Columbus School No. 15
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 672 52.5 12.8 Suburb: Large
Nicholas Murray Butler Academy School No. 23
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 667 55.5 12 Suburb: Large
Elmora School No. 12
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 658 47.5 13.9 Suburb: Large
Madison Monroe School No. 16
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 644 53.5 12 Suburb: Large
Victor Mravlag School No. 21
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 634 52.5 12.1 Suburb: Large
Winfield Scott School No. 2
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 630 52.0 12.1 Suburb: Large
George Washington Academy School No. 1
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 595 49.5 12 Suburb: Large
Sonia Sotomayor School No 25
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 591 46.0 12.8 Suburb: Large
Woodrow Wilson School No. 19
Elizabeth
PK–8 Regular 563 44.5 12.7 Suburb: Large
Robert Morris School No. 18
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 471 40.0 11.8 Suburb: Large
John Marshal School No. 20
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 452 34.0 13.3 Suburb: Large
J. Christian Bollwage Finance Academy
Elizabeth
9–12 Regular 415 30.0 13.8 Suburb: Large
iPrep Academy School No 8
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 397 33.5 11.9 Suburb: Large
Benjamin Franklin School No. 13
Elizabeth
K–8 Regular 392 36.0 10.9 Suburb: Large
Donald Stewart Early Childhood Center No 51
Elizabeth
PK Regular 310 24.0 12.9 Suburb: Large
Frances C. Smith Early Childhood Center No 50
Elizabeth
PK Regular 306 22.0 13.9 Suburb: Large
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Early Childhood Center No 52
Elizabeth
PK Regular 301 25.0 12 Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in New Jersey: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.