SchoolScope USA

Indian River School District

Public school district based in Georgetown, Delaware. NCES district ID 1000680; state ID DE-36.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
10,753
15 of 16 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
781.5
15 of 16 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Indian River School DistrictIndian River School District, Delaware · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 234
Kindergarten 763
Grade 1 794
Grade 2 787
Grade 3 840
Grade 4 823
Grade 5 809
Grade 6 809
Grade 7 880
Grade 8 847
Grade 9 903
Grade 10 826
Grade 11 763
Grade 12 675

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Indian River School DistrictIndian River School District, Delaware · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 1.0%
Black or African American 11.4%
Hispanic/Latino 38.3%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 4.6%
White 44.2%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Indian River School DistrictIndian River School District, Delaware · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.3%
Male 51.7%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Town 6, Rural 10.

Operating public schools, Indian River School DistrictDelaware · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Sussex Central High School
Georgetown
9–12 Regular 2,012 131.0 15.4 Rural: Fringe
Indian River High School
Dagsboro
9–12 Regular 1,073 81.0 13.2 Rural: Fringe
Georgetown Middle School
Georgetown
6–8 Regular 861 59.0 14.6 Town: Distant
Georgetown Elementary School
Georgetown
K–5 Regular 825 60.0 13.8 Town: Distant
East Millsboro Elementary School
Millsboro
K–5 Regular 820 51.0 16.1 Town: Distant
Selbyville Middle School
Selbyville
6–8 Regular 770 53.0 14.5 Rural: Distant
North Georgetown Elementary School
Georgetown
K–5 Regular 754 48.5 15.5 Rural: Fringe
Millsboro Middle School
Millsboro
6–8 Regular 726 53.0 13.7 Town: Distant
Long Neck Elementary School
Millsboro
K–5 Regular 712 46.0 15.5 Town: Distant
Lord Baltimore Elementary School
Ocean View
K–5 Regular 557 42.0 13.3 Town: Distant
Clayton (John M.) Elementary School
Frankford
K–5 Regular 446 37.0 12.1 Rural: Fringe
Southern Delaware School of the Arts
Selbyville
K–8 Regular 404 32.0 12.6 Rural: Distant
Ennis (Howard T.) School
Georgetown
PK–12 Special Education 340 54.0 6.3 Rural: Fringe
Showell (Phillip C.) Elementary School
Selbyville
K–5 Regular 297 25.0 11.9 Rural: Distant
Indian River Intensive Learning Center
Selbyville
12 Special Education 156 Not reported — Rural: Distant
Carver (G.W.) Educational Center
Frankford
— Alternative Not reported 9.0 — Rural: Fringe

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Delaware: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.