Christina School District
Public school district based in Newark, Delaware. NCES district ID 1000200; state ID DE-33.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 494 | |
| Kindergarten | 994 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,002 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,033 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,122 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,054 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,013 | |
| Grade 6 | 936 | |
| Grade 7 | 964 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,038 | |
| Grade 9 | 942 | |
| Grade 10 | 845 | |
| Grade 11 | 747 | |
| Grade 12 | 770 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 4.8% | |
| Black or African American | 43.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 23.6% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 5.7% | |
| White | 21.7% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 46.4% | |
| Male | 53.6% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 5, Suburb 24.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christiana High School Newark | 6–12 | Regular | 1,425 | 84.6 | 16.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Newark High School Newark | 9–12 | Regular | 1,039 | 68.0 | 15.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Glasgow High School Newark | 9–12 | Regular | 908 | 51.0 | 17.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Shue-Medill Middle School Newark | 6–8 | Regular | 763 | 64.0 | 11.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Gauger-Cobbs Middle School Newark | 6–8 | Regular | 681 | 62.0 | 11 | Suburb: Large |
| Maurice Pritchett SR. Academy Wilmington | 1–8 | Regular | 616 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Kirk (George V.) Middle School Newark | 6–8 | Regular | 612 | 49.0 | 12.5 | Suburb: Large |
| The Bayard School Wilmington | 1–8 | Regular | 571 | 50.0 | 11.4 | City: Small |
| Marshall (Thurgood) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 529 | 35.0 | 15.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Oberle (William) Elementary School Bear | K–5 | Regular | 512 | 39.7 | 12.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Gallaher (Robert S.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 469 | 49.0 | 9.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Brennen School (The) Newark | PK–12 | Special Education | 419 | 84.0 | 5 | Suburb: Large |
| Smith (Jennie E.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 413 | 39.9 | 10.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Keene (William B.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 408 | 31.0 | 13.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Christina Early Education Center Newark | PK | Special Education | 362 | 29.0 | 12.5 | Suburb: Large |
| West Park Place Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 350 | 27.0 | 13 | Suburb: Large |
| Downes (John R.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 346 | 31.0 | 11.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Jones (Albert H.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 329 | 23.0 | 14.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Brader (Henry M.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 324 | 27.0 | 12 | Suburb: Large |
| McVey (Joseph M.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 319 | 28.0 | 11.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Leasure (May B.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 316 | 30.0 | 10.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Wilson (Etta J.) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 271 | 21.0 | 12.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Brookside Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 260 | 26.0 | 10 | Suburb: Large |
| Maclary (R. Elisabeth) Elementary School Newark | K–5 | Regular | 244 | 23.0 | 10.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Stubbs Early Education Center Wilmington | PK–K | Regular | 148 | 15.0 | 9.9 | City: Small |
| Douglass School Wilmington | 1–12 | Special Education | 119 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Delaware School for the Deaf Newark | PK–12 | Special Education | 108 | 39.0 | 2.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Pulaski Early Education Center Wilmington | PK–K | Regular | 93 | 7.0 | 13.3 | City: Small |
| Pyle (Sarah) Academy Newark | — | Alternative | Not reported | 2.0 | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Delaware: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.