Maricopa Unified School District (4441)
Public school district based in Maricopa, Arizona. NCES district ID 0404720; state ID AZ-4441.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 153 | |
| Kindergarten | 648 | |
| Grade 1 | 676 | |
| Grade 2 | 676 | |
| Grade 3 | 748 | |
| Grade 4 | 790 | |
| Grade 5 | 785 | |
| Grade 6 | 569 | |
| Grade 7 | 620 | |
| Grade 8 | 683 | |
| Grade 9 | 780 | |
| Grade 10 | 809 | |
| Grade 11 | 794 | |
| Grade 12 | 824 | |
| Ungraded | 13 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 3.9% | |
| Asian | 2.1% | |
| Black or African American | 16.2% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 46.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.7% | |
| Two or more races | 7.8% | |
| White | 22.8% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.9% | |
| Male | 52.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 12, Rural 1.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maricopa High School Maricopa | 6–12 | Regular | 1,840 | 85.4 | 21.5 | Suburb: Small |
| Desert Sunrise High School Maricopa | 9–12 | Regular | 1,261 | 54.3 | 23.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Santa Cruz Elementary School Maricopa | PK–6 | Regular | 941 | 52.0 | 18.1 | Suburb: Small |
| Maricopa Wells Middle School Maricopa | 6–8 | Regular | 940 | 46.0 | 20.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Butterfield Elementary School Maricopa | PK–5 | Regular | 920 | 58.5 | 15.7 | Suburb: Small |
| Desert Wind Middle School Maricopa | 6–8 | Regular | 898 | 42.7 | 21 | Suburb: Small |
| Maricopa Elementary School Maricopa | PK–6 | Regular | 883 | 56.0 | 15.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Saddleback Elementary School Maricopa | PK–6 | Regular | 811 | 61.5 | 13.2 | Suburb: Small |
| Santa Rosa Elementary School Maricopa | PK–6 | Regular | 527 | 30.0 | 17.6 | Suburb: Small |
| Pima Butte Elementary School Maricopa | PK–5 | Regular | 407 | 25.5 | 16 | Suburb: Small |
| Maricopa Virtual Academy Maricopa | K–12 | Regular | 140 | 6.7 | 20.9 | Suburb: Small |
| Santa Rosa Preschool Maricopa | PK | Regular | 0 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Small |
| Saddleback Preschool Maricopa | PK | Regular | 0 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Arizona: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.