SchoolScope USA

Cartwright Elementary District (4282)

Public school district based in Phoenix, Arizona. NCES district ID 0401680; state ID AZ-4282.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
13,436
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
675.8
21 of 23 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Cartwright Elementary District (4282)Cartwright Elementary District (4282), Arizona · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 560
Kindergarten 1,274
Grade 1 1,332
Grade 2 1,283
Grade 3 1,463
Grade 4 1,591
Grade 5 1,620
Grade 6 1,458
Grade 7 1,426
Grade 8 1,406
Ungraded 23

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Cartwright Elementary District (4282)Cartwright Elementary District (4282), Arizona · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 1.0%
Asian 0.4%
Black or African American 5.1%
Hispanic/Latino 90.1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 0.9%
White 2.3%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Cartwright Elementary District (4282)Cartwright Elementary District (4282), Arizona · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.1%
Male 51.9%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 23.

Operating public schools, Cartwright Elementary District (4282)Arizona · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Frank Borman School
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 960 46.5 20.6 City: Large
Charles W. Harris School
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 875 37.5 23.3 City: Large
Peralta School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 817 36.7 22.3 City: Large
Manuel Pena Jr. School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 806 42.2 19.1 City: Large
Sunset School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 739 38.7 19.1 City: Large
Tomahawk School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 718 32.2 22.3 City: Large
Starlight Park College Preparatory and Community School
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 703 40.7 17.3 City: Large
Glenn L. Downs Social Sciences Academy
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 684 32.5 21 City: Large
Cartwright School
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 670 35.5 18.9 City: Large
Justine Spitalny STE3AM School
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 667 33.5 19.9 City: Large
Estrella Middle School College and Career Prep
Phoenix
6–8 Regular 650 32.0 20.3 City: Large
John F. Long
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 641 28.2 22.8 City: Large
G. Frank Davidson
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 629 31.7 19.9 City: Large
Bret R. Tarver Leadership Academy
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 617 33.3 18.6 City: Large
Heatherbrae School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 607 30.7 19.8 City: Large
Palm Lane
Phoenix
PK–8 Regular 602 32.7 18.4 City: Large
Raul H. Castro Middle School: Academy of Fine Arts
Phoenix
6–8 Regular 545 24.3 22.5 City: Large
Holiday Park School
Phoenix
PK–6 Regular 530 32.5 16.3 City: Large
Desert Sands Academy of Mass Communication & Journalism
Phoenix
6–8 Regular 510 27.5 18.5 City: Large
Marc T. Atkinson Middle School & Gifted Academy
Phoenix
6–8 Regular 205 12.8 16.1 City: Large
Cartwright Early Childhood Center
Phoenix
PK Regular 193 14.5 13.3 City: Large
Byron A. Barry School
Phoenix
PK Regular 68 Not reported — City: Large
Cartwright Virtual Academy
Phoenix
K–8 Regular 0 Not reported — City: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Arizona: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.