Wood County Schools
Public school district based in Parkersburg, West Virginia. NCES district ID 5401620; state ID WV-9600000.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 624 | |
| Kindergarten | 728 | |
| Grade 1 | 806 | |
| Grade 2 | 789 | |
| Grade 3 | 851 | |
| Grade 4 | 804 | |
| Grade 5 | 750 | |
| Grade 6 | 843 | |
| Grade 7 | 802 | |
| Grade 8 | 856 | |
| Grade 9 | 824 | |
| Grade 10 | 840 | |
| Grade 11 | 827 | |
| Grade 12 | 754 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 0.7% | |
| Black or African American | 1.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1.9% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 4.1% | |
| White | 91.6% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.5% | |
| Male | 51.5% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 19, Suburb 4, Town 2, Rural 2.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parkersburg High School Parkersburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,491 | 87.0 | 17.1 | City: Small |
| Parkersburg South High School Parkersburg | 9–12 | Regular | 1,373 | 84.0 | 16.3 | City: Small |
| Williamstown High School Williamstown | 6–12 | Regular | 676 | 46.0 | 14.7 | Town: Fringe |
| Edison Middle School Parkersburg | 6–8 | Regular | 551 | 38.0 | 14.5 | City: Small |
| Williamstown Elementary School Williamstown | PK–5 | Regular | 545 | 33.0 | 16.5 | Town: Fringe |
| Blennerhassett Middle School Parkersburg | 6–8 | Regular | 534 | 30.0 | 17.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Blennerhassett Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 522 | 34.0 | 15.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Jefferson Elementary Center Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 475 | 56.0 | 8.5 | City: Small |
| Mineral Wells Elementary School Mineral Wells | PK–5 | Regular | 465 | 30.0 | 15.5 | Suburb: Small |
| Hamilton Middle School Parkersburg | 6–8 | Regular | 446 | 31.0 | 14.4 | City: Small |
| Jackson Middle School Vienna | 6–8 | Regular | 429 | 31.0 | 13.8 | City: Small |
| Lubeck Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 381 | 26.0 | 14.7 | Suburb: Small |
| Emerson Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 361 | 30.0 | 12 | City: Small |
| Neale Elementary School Vienna | PK–5 | Regular | 357 | 27.0 | 13.2 | City: Small |
| Vienna Elementary School Vienna | PK–5 | Regular | 288 | 20.0 | 14.4 | City: Small |
| Criss Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 267 | 18.0 | 14.8 | City: Small |
| Kanawha Elementary School Davisville | PK–5 | Regular | 265 | 22.0 | 12 | Rural: Fringe |
| Madison Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 264 | 22.0 | 12 | City: Small |
| Franklin Elementary Center Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 262 | 30.0 | 8.7 | City: Small |
| Gihon Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 261 | 20.0 | 13.1 | City: Small |
| Martin Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 250 | 28.0 | 8.9 | City: Small |
| Van Devender Middle School Parkersburg | 6–8 | Regular | 244 | 25.0 | 9.8 | City: Small |
| Greenmont Elementary School Vienna | PK–5 | Regular | 229 | 16.0 | 14.3 | City: Small |
| Fairplains Elementary School Parkersburg | PK–5 | Regular | 160 | 14.0 | 11.4 | City: Small |
| Wood Co Voc Tech Ctr Parkersburg | 9–12 | Career and Technical | 2 | 20.0 | 0.1check | City: Small |
| Caperton Center for Applied Technology Parkersburg | 9–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Summit Success Center Parkersburg | K–12 | Alternative | Not reported | 4.0 | — | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in West Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.