Kanawha County Schools
Public school district based in Charleston, West Virginia. NCES district ID 5400600; state ID WV-3900000.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,334 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,550 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,479 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,505 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,718 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,586 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,536 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,679 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,748 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,672 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,063 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,846 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,626 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,743 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.1% | |
| Asian | 1.0% | |
| Black or African American | 10.0% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1.2% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 7.6% | |
| White | 80.0% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.3% | |
| Male | 50.7% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 15, Suburb 36, Rural 12.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Washington High School Charleston | 9–12 | Regular | 1,145 | 51.0 | 22.5 | City: Small |
| Riverside High School Belle | 9–12 | Regular | 1,057 | 57.0 | 18.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Capital High School Charleston | 9–12 | Regular | 1,051 | 60.5 | 17.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Saint Albans High School Saint Albans | 9–12 | Regular | 882 | 47.0 | 18.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| South Charleston High School South Charleston | 9–12 | Regular | 874 | 47.0 | 18.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Nitro High School Nitro | 9–12 | Regular | 818 | 40.0 | 20.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Herbert Hoover High School Elkview | 9–12 | Regular | 782 | 40.0 | 19.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| John Adams Middle School Charleston | 6–8 | Regular | 740 | 41.5 | 17.8 | City: Small |
| Elkview Middle School Elkview | 6–8 | Regular | 621 | 37.0 | 16.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Sissonville High School Charleston | 9–12 | Regular | 564 | 37.0 | 15.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Sissonville Middle School Charleston | 5–8 | Regular | 521 | 30.0 | 17.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Andrew Jackson Middle School Charleston | 6–8 | Regular | 488 | 31.0 | 15.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Elk Elementary Center Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 475 | 34.5 | 13.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Hayes Middle School Saint Albans | 6–8 | Regular | 464 | 27.0 | 17.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mary C. Snow West Side Elementary Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 453 | 34.0 | 13.3 | City: Small |
| Du Pont Middle School Belle | 6–8 | Regular | 440 | 29.0 | 15.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Point Harmony Elementary School Cross Lanes | PK–5 | Regular | 440 | 28.0 | 15.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Flinn Elementary School Charleston | PK–4 | Regular | 430 | 28.5 | 15.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Bridgeview Elementary School South Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 417 | 31.0 | 13.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Edgewood Elementary Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 413 | 35.0 | 11.8 | City: Small |
| Horace Mann Middle School Charleston | 6–8 | Regular | 385 | 26.5 | 14.5 | City: Small |
| Nitro Elementary School Nitro | PK–5 | Regular | 377 | 27.0 | 14 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Alban Elementary School Saint Albans | PK–5 | Regular | 376 | 27.0 | 13.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Overbrook Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 375 | 22.0 | 17 | City: Small |
| West Side Middle School Charleston | 6–8 | Regular | 374 | 30.0 | 12.5 | City: Small |
| South Charleston Middle School South Charleston | 6–8 | Regular | 354 | 20.0 | 17.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Clendenin Elementary School Elkview | PK–5 | Regular | 335 | 26.0 | 12.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Dunbar Middle School Dunbar | 6–8 | Regular | 325 | 28.0 | 11.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Central Elementary School Saint Albans | PK–5 | Regular | 304 | 19.5 | 15.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Holz Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 304 | 18.5 | 16.4 | City: Small |
| Cross Lanes Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 294 | 22.0 | 13.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Lakewood Elementary School Saint Albans | PK–5 | Regular | 294 | 18.5 | 15.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Pinch Elementary School Elkview | PK–5 | Regular | 282 | 22.0 | 12.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Piedmont Year-Round Education Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 279 | 26.0 | 10.7 | City: Small |
| Dunbar Primary Center Dunbar | PK–2 | Regular | 271 | 24.0 | 11.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Ruffner Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 271 | 19.5 | 13.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Belle Elementary School Belle | PK–5 | Regular | 255 | 22.0 | 11.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| McKinley Middle School Saint Albans | 6–8 | Regular | 255 | 20.0 | 12.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Weberwood Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 247 | 16.0 | 15.4 | City: Small |
| Kanawha City Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 242 | 18.0 | 13.4 | City: Small |
| Andrews Heights Elementary School Tornado | PK–5 | Regular | 233 | 19.0 | 12.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Dunbar Intermediate Center Dunbar | 3–5 | Regular | 232 | 19.0 | 12.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| East Bank Middle School East Bank | 6–8 | Regular | 227 | 18.0 | 12.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chamberlain Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 225 | 14.5 | 15.5 | City: Small |
| Ruthlawn Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 225 | 17.0 | 13.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Montrose Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 224 | 15.0 | 14.9 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Anne Bailey Elementary School Saint Albans | PK–5 | Regular | 221 | 22.5 | 9.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Sissonville Elementary School Sissonville | PK–4 | Regular | 216 | 15.0 | 14.4 | Rural: Distant |
| Richmond Elementary School South Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 213 | 19.0 | 11.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Chesapeake Elementary School Chesapeake | PK–5 | Regular | 205 | 19.5 | 10.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Shoals Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 191 | 14.0 | 13.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Kenna Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 180 | 11.0 | 16.4 | City: Small |
| Malden Elementary School Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 160 | 15.0 | 10.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Cedar Grove Elementary School Cedar Grove | PK–5 | Regular | 159 | 10.5 | 15.1 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Midland Trail Elementary School Diamond | PK–5 | Regular | 158 | 13.0 | 12.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Alum Creek Elementary School South Charleston | PK–5 | Regular | 151 | 10.5 | 14.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Pratt Elementary School Pratt | PK–5 | Regular | 148 | 13.0 | 11.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Sharon Dawes Elementary School Miami | PK–5 | Regular | 148 | 12.0 | 12.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Mary Ingles Elementary School Tad | PK–5 | Regular | 143 | 9.5 | 15.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| KCS Alternative Learning Charleston | K–12 | Alternative | 134 | 9.0 | 14.9 | City: Small |
| Grandview Annex Charleston | PK | Regular | 18 | 142.2 | 0.1check | City: Small |
| Ben Franklin Career Center Dunbar | 9–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | 21.0 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Carver Career Center Charleston | 9–12 | Career and Technical | Not reported | 22.0 | — | Suburb: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in West Virginia: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.