Bellingham School District
Public school district based in Bellingham, Washington. NCES district ID 5300420; state ID WA-37501.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 114 | |
| Kindergarten | 874 | |
| Grade 1 | 744 | |
| Grade 2 | 786 | |
| Grade 3 | 864 | |
| Grade 4 | 827 | |
| Grade 5 | 775 | |
| Grade 6 | 849 | |
| Grade 7 | 829 | |
| Grade 8 | 823 | |
| Grade 9 | 914 | |
| Grade 10 | 942 | |
| Grade 11 | 983 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,013 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.8% | |
| Asian | 4.6% | |
| Black or African American | 1.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 20.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 8.8% | |
| White | 62.9% | |
| Not Specified | 0.8% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 46.7% | |
| Male | 52.5% | |
| Not Specified | 0.8% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 22, Suburb 3.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Squalicum High School Bellingham | 9–12 | Regular | 1,273 | 60.3 | 21.1 | City: Small |
| Bellingham High School Bellingham | 9–12 | Regular | 1,165 | 54.7 | 21.3 | City: Small |
| Sehome High School Bellingham | 9–12 | Regular | 1,116 | 51.1 | 21.8 | City: Small |
| Whatcom Middle School Bellingham | 6–8 | Regular | 637 | 34.4 | 18.5 | City: Small |
| Shuksan Middle School Bellingham | 6–8 | Regular | 606 | 36.2 | 16.8 | City: Small |
| Fairhaven Middle School Bellingham | 6–8 | Regular | 588 | 32.4 | 18.1 | City: Small |
| Kulshan Middle School Bellingham | 6–8 | Regular | 575 | 32.6 | 17.6 | City: Small |
| Happy Valley Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 455 | 25.8 | 17.6 | City: Small |
| Parkview Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 422 | 25.2 | 16.7 | City: Small |
| Geneva Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 412 | 22.7 | 18.2 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Northern Heights Elementary Schl Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 396 | 25.4 | 15.6 | City: Small |
| Silver Beach Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 357 | 17.6 | 20.3 | City: Small |
| Cordata Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 357 | 28.6 | 12.5 | City: Small |
| Roosevelt Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 348 | 24.3 | 14.3 | City: Small |
| Lowell Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 338 | 19.5 | 17.3 | City: Small |
| Birchwood Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 335 | 24.0 | 14 | City: Small |
| Carl Cozier Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 325 | 22.6 | 14.4 | City: Small |
| Alderwood Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 305 | 21.6 | 14.1 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Wade King Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 297 | 18.1 | 16.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Sunnyland Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 288 | 19.8 | 14.5 | City: Small |
| Bellingham Family Partnership Program Bellingham | K–12 | Alternative | 258 | 9.9 | 26.1 | City: Small |
| Columbia Elementary School Bellingham | PK–5 | Regular | 187 | 11.0 | 17 | City: Small |
| Options High School Bellingham | 9–12 | Alternative | 176 | 20.4 | 8.6 | City: Small |
| Bellingham Re-Engagement Program Bellingham | 9–12 | Alternative | 110 | 0.0 | — | City: Small |
| Visions (Seamar Youth Center) Bellingham | 6–12 | Alternative | 11 | 0.0 | — | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Washington: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.