SchoolScope USA

Galena Park Isd

Public school district based in Houston, Texas. NCES district ID 4820250; state ID TX-101910.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
20,862
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,388.6
24 of 26 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Galena Park IsdGalena Park Isd, Texas · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 1,072
Kindergarten 1,263
Grade 1 1,433
Grade 2 1,447
Grade 3 1,501
Grade 4 1,412
Grade 5 1,348
Grade 6 1,471
Grade 7 1,490
Grade 8 1,600
Grade 9 1,625
Grade 10 1,690
Grade 11 1,768
Grade 12 1,742

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Galena Park IsdGalena Park Isd, Texas · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native Suppressed
Asian 0.5%
Black or African American 13.8%
Hispanic/Latino 82.3%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 0.6%
White 2.8%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Galena Park IsdGalena Park Isd, Texas · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.1%
Male 50.9%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 5, Suburb 21.

Operating public schools, Galena Park IsdTexas · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
North Shore Senior High
Houston
9–12 Regular 4,284 265.7 16.1 Suburb: Large
Galena Park H S
Galena Park
9–12 Regular 1,815 118.3 15.3 Suburb: Large
North Shore Middle
Houston
7–8 Regular 1,299 80.2 16.2 Suburb: Large
Cobb 6th Grade Campus
Houston
6 Regular 991 71.4 13.9 Suburb: Large
North Shore El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 965 56.4 17.1 Suburb: Large
Galena Park Middle
Galena Park
6–8 Regular 896 61.2 14.6 Suburb: Large
Cloverleaf El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 821 49.9 16.5 Suburb: Large
Cunningham Middle
Houston
7–8 Regular 802 62.3 12.9 Suburb: Large
Sam Houston El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 703 47.5 14.8 Suburb: Large
James B Havard El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 694 45.5 15.2 Suburb: Large
Jacinto City El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 689 48.7 14.1 Suburb: Large
Cimarron El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 669 45.4 14.7 City: Large
Tice El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 669 42.5 15.7 Suburb: Large
Dr Shirley J Williamson El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 621 43.5 14.3 Suburb: Large
Normandy Crossing El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 596 42.6 14 Suburb: Large
Galena Park El
Galena Park
PK–5 Regular 588 42.0 14 Suburb: Large
Woodland Acres Middle
Houston
6–8 Regular 570 41.0 13.9 City: Large
Green Valley El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 565 45.5 12.4 Suburb: Large
Macarthur El
Galena Park
PK–5 Regular 556 40.2 13.8 Suburb: Large
Galena Park Isd Career & Technical Echs
Houston
9–12 Regular 487 16.3 29.9 Suburb: Large
Woodland Acres El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 458 32.5 14.1 City: Large
Pyburn El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 454 35.3 12.9 City: Large
Purple Sage El
Houston
PK–5 Regular 428 32.7 13.1 Suburb: Large
Accelerated Center for Education (Ace)
Houston
9–12 Alternative 230 22.3 10.3 Suburb: Large
Highpoint School East (Daep)
Houston
7–12 Alternative 11 Not reported — Suburb: Large
Juvenile Justice Aep
Houston
9 Alternative 1 Not reported — City: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Texas: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.