Sumner County
Public school district based in Gallatin, Tennessee. NCES district ID 4704020; state ID TN-00830.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 487 | |
| Kindergarten | 2,067 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,241 | |
| Grade 2 | 2,249 | |
| Grade 3 | 2,338 | |
| Grade 4 | 2,318 | |
| Grade 5 | 2,370 | |
| Grade 6 | 2,343 | |
| Grade 7 | 2,332 | |
| Grade 8 | 2,380 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,453 | |
| Grade 10 | 2,428 | |
| Grade 11 | 2,408 | |
| Grade 12 | 2,305 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 2.0% | |
| Black or African American | 10.3% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 13.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 4.6% | |
| White | 69.0% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.0% | |
| Male | 51.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 27, Town 9, Rural 17.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gallatin Senior High School Gallatin | 9–12 | Regular | 1,644 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Beech Sr High School Hendersonville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,477 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Hendersonville High School Hendersonville | 9–12 | Regular | 1,410 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Portland High School Portland | 9–12 | Regular | 1,151 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Station Camp High School Gallatin | 9–12 | Regular | 1,137 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Liberty Creek High School Gallatin | 9–12 | Regular | 993 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Station Camp Elementary Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 974 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Station Camp Middle School Gallatin | 6–8 | Regular | 904 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Jack Anderson Elementary Hendersonville | PK–5 | Regular | 829 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| White House High School White House | 9–12 | Regular | 818 | Not reported | — | Town: Fringe |
| Dr. William Burrus Elementary at Drakes Creek Hendersonville | K–5 | Regular | 789 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Liberty Creek Elementary Gallatin | K–5 | Regular | 735 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Vena Stuart Elementary Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 710 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Joe Shafer Middle School Gallatin | 6–8 | Regular | 670 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Merrol Hyde Magnet School Hendersonville | K–12 | Regular | 670 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Benny C. Bills Elementary School Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 659 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Liberty Creek Middle School Gallatin | 6–8 | Regular | 652 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Knox Doss Middle School at Drakes Creek Hendersonville | 6–8 | Regular | 641 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| White House Middle School White House | 5–8 | Regular | 638 | Not reported | — | Town: Fringe |
| Union Elementary School Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 620 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Howard Elementary Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 591 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Rucker Stewart Middle Gallatin | 6–8 | Regular | 585 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Madison Creek Elementary Goodlettsville | PK–5 | Regular | 566 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Guild Elementary Gallatin | PK–5 | Regular | 556 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Nannie Berry Elementary Hendersonville | PK–5 | Regular | 553 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Portland Gateview Elementary School Portland | PK–5 | Regular | 552 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| T. W. Hunter Middle School Hendersonville | 6–8 | Regular | 532 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Westmoreland High School Westmoreland | 9–12 | Regular | 518 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Robert E Ellis Middle Hendersonville | 6–8 | Regular | 509 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Portland West Middle School Portland | 6–8 | Regular | 491 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
| Westmoreland Elementary Westmoreland | PK–5 | Regular | 464 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Indian Lake Elementary Hendersonville | K–5 | Regular | 464 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| White House Intermediate School White House | 3–5 | Regular | 448 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Harold B. Williams Elementary School White House | PK–2 | Regular | 435 | Not reported | — | Town: Fringe |
| George A Whitten Elementary Hendersonville | PK–5 | Regular | 430 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Watt Hardison Elementary Portland | K–5 | Regular | 429 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
| Westmoreland Middle School Westmoreland | 6–8 | Regular | 423 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Beech Elementary Hendersonville | PK–5 | Regular | 407 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| V G Hawkins Middle School Hendersonville | 6–8 | Regular | 403 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Portland East Middle School Portland | 6–8 | Regular | 396 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
| Gene W. Brown Elementary Hendersonville | K–5 | Regular | 391 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Walton Ferry Elementary Hendersonville | K–5 | Regular | 359 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Lakeside Park Elementary Hendersonville | PK–5 | Regular | 358 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| J W Wiseman Elementary Portland | PK–5 | Regular | 336 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
| Clyde Riggs Elementary Portland | K–5 | Regular | 301 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
| Bethpage Elementary Bethpage | K–5 | Regular | 254 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Millersville Elementary Goodlettsville | PK–5 | Regular | 252 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| North Sumner Elementary Bethpage | K–5 | Regular | 212 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Oakmont Elementary Cottontown | K–5 | Regular | 128 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| R T Fisher Alternative Gallatin | K–12 | Alternative | 127 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Sumner County Middle College High School Gallatin | 11–12 | Regular | 54 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Patricia Brown Virtual Academy Gallatin | 9–12 | Regular | 48 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Sumner County Middle Technical College High School at Portla Portland | 11–12 | Career and Technical | 26 | Not reported | — | Town: Distant |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Tennessee: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.