Rutherford County
Public school district based in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. NCES district ID 4703690; state ID TN-00750.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 809 | |
| Kindergarten | 2,972 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,926 | |
| Grade 2 | 3,099 | |
| Grade 3 | 3,175 | |
| Grade 4 | 3,201 | |
| Grade 5 | 3,342 | |
| Grade 6 | 4,350 | |
| Grade 7 | 4,685 | |
| Grade 8 | 4,644 | |
| Grade 9 | 4,802 | |
| Grade 10 | 4,673 | |
| Grade 11 | 4,842 | |
| Grade 12 | 4,607 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 4.5% | |
| Black or African American | 17.3% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 24.8% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 5.2% | |
| White | 47.7% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.1% | |
| Male | 50.9% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 33, Suburb 14, Rural 8.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stewarts Creek High School Smyrna | 9–12 | Regular | 2,474 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Blackman High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 2,301 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Riverdale High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 2,275 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Smyrna High School Smyrna | 9–12 | Regular | 2,266 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Rockvale High School Rockvale | 9–12 | Regular | 2,126 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Lavergne High School Lavergne | 9–12 | Regular | 2,116 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Siegel High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 1,910 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Oakland High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 1,872 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Blackman Middle School Murfreesboro | 6–8 | Regular | 1,727 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Rockvale Middle School Rockvale | 6–8 | Regular | 1,567 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Oakland Middle School Murfreesboro | 6–8 | Regular | 1,224 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Central Magnet School Murfreesboro | 6–12 | Regular | 1,222 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Siegel Middle School Murfreesboro | 6–8 | Regular | 1,196 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Rock Springs Elementary Lavergne | PK–5 | Regular | 1,193 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Stewarts Creek Elementary School Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 1,173 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Rock Springs Middle School Smyrna | 6–8 | Regular | 1,152 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| LaVergne Middle School La Vergne | 6–8 | Regular | 1,117 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Christiana Middle School Christiana | 6–8 | Regular | 1,048 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Stewarts Creek Middle School Smyrna | 6–8 | Regular | 1,045 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| LaVergne Lake Elementary School LaVergne | PK–5 | Regular | 1,025 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Eagleville School Eagleville | PK–12 | Regular | 1,013 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Brown's Chapel Elementary School Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 1,002 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Rockvale Elementary Rockvale | PK–5 | Regular | 982 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Barfield Elementary Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 969 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Blackman Elementary School Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 954 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Rocky Fork Elementary School Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 905 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Smyrna Middle School Smyrna | 6–8 | Regular | 899 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Rocky Fork Middle School Smyrna | 6–8 | Regular | 873 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| John Colemon Elementary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 861 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Cedar Grove Elementary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 856 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Stewartsboro Elementary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 854 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Roy L Waldron Elementary Lavergne | PK–5 | Regular | 832 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Whitworth-Buchanan Middle School Murfreesboro | 6–8 | Regular | 755 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Thurman Francis Arts Academy/Magnet School for the Arts Smyrna | K–8 | Regular | 732 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| David Youree Elementary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 705 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Plainview Elementary School Christiana | PK–5 | Regular | 673 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Wilson Elementary School Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 666 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Christiana Elementary Christiana | PK–5 | Regular | 659 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Smyrna Elementary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 646 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Lascassas Elementary Lascassas | PK–5 | Regular | 630 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Walter Hill Elementary Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 615 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Smyrna Primary Smyrna | PK–5 | Regular | 562 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Buchanan Elementary Murfreesboro | PK–5 | Regular | 475 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| McFadden School Of Excellence Murfreesboro | K–5 | Regular | 386 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Rutherford County Virtual School Murfreesboro | 3–12 | Regular | 384 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Kittrell Elementary Readyville | PK–5 | Regular | 345 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Homer Pittard Campus School Murfreesboro | K–5 | Regular | 240 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| American Classical Academy RutherfordCharter LaVergne | K–5 | Regular | 195 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Springs Public Schools Tennessee Empower AcademyCharter Smyrna | K–5 | Regular | 178 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Holloway High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 122 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Daniel McKee Alternative School Murfreesboro | 6–12 | Alternative | 63 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Midsize |
| Smyrna West Alternative School Smyrna | 6–12 | Alternative | 47 | Not reported | — | City: Small |
| Simon Springs Community School LaVergne | 1–8 | Alternative | 20 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
| Rutherford County Adult High School Murfreesboro | 9–12 | Regular | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
| Westbrooks - Woods Academy Murfreesboro | 6–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Tennessee: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.