Putnam County
Public school district based in Cookeville, Tennessee. NCES district ID 4703480; state ID TN-00710.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 501 | |
| Kindergarten | 814 | |
| Grade 1 | 872 | |
| Grade 2 | 870 | |
| Grade 3 | 858 | |
| Grade 4 | 791 | |
| Grade 5 | 863 | |
| Grade 6 | 839 | |
| Grade 7 | 871 | |
| Grade 8 | 841 | |
| Grade 9 | 914 | |
| Grade 10 | 923 | |
| Grade 11 | 899 | |
| Grade 12 | 920 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 1.4% | |
| Black or African American | 2.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 18.8% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 1.6% | |
| White | 75.5% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.9% | |
| Male | 51.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Town 17, Rural 5.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cookeville High School Cookeville | 9–12 | Regular | 2,241 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Upperman High School Baxter | 9–12 | Regular | 899 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Upperman Middle School Baxter | 5–8 | Regular | 851 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Prescott South Middle School Cookeville | 5–8 | Regular | 813 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Avery Trace Middle School Cookeville | 5–8 | Regular | 724 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Algood Middle School Cookeville | 5–8 | Regular | 718 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Prescott South Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 535 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Monterey High School Monterey | 7–12 | Regular | 526 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Capshaw Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 515 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Burks Elementary Monterey | PK–6 | Regular | 515 | Not reported | — | Rural: Distant |
| Algood Elementary Algood | PK–4 | Regular | 495 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Northeast Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 459 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Cane Creek Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 447 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Park View School Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 416 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Cornerstone Elementary Baxter | 2–4 | Regular | 378 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Jere Whitson Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 339 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Sycamore Elementary Cookeville | PK–4 | Regular | 337 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Baxter Primary Baxter | PK–1 | Regular | 327 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Putnam County VITAL Cookeville | PK–12 | Regular | 123 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| White Plains Academy Algood | K–12 | Alternative | 76 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Putnam Co Adult High School Cookeville | 9–12 | Regular | 22 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| T T U Child Development Lab Cookeville | PK | Regular | 20 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Tennessee: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.