Richland 01
Public school district based in Columbia, South Carolina. NCES district ID 4503360; state ID SC-4001.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,036 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,694 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,635 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,642 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,698 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,658 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,650 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,560 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,624 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,540 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,792 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,597 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,434 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,254 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 1.1% | |
| Black or African American | 65.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 9.0% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 5.6% | |
| White | 18.6% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 27, Suburb 14, Rural 7.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A. C. Flora High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 1,328 | 84.8 | 15.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Lower Richland High Hopkins | 9–12 | Regular | 1,218 | 90.0 | 13.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Dreher High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 1,144 | 77.5 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Crayton Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 952 | 68.0 | 14 | Suburb: Large |
| Brennen Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 805 | 56.5 | 14.2 | City: Midsize |
| Hand Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 755 | 61.0 | 12.4 | City: Midsize |
| Satchel Ford Elementary Columbia | K–5 | Regular | 721 | 47.5 | 15.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Caughman Road Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 715 | 53.0 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Columbia High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 681 | 54.0 | 12.6 | Suburb: Large |
| W.J. Keenan High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 675 | 53.0 | 12.7 | Suburb: Large |
| St. Andrews Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 627 | 58.0 | 10.8 | City: Midsize |
| Meadowfield Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 615 | 42.0 | 14.6 | City: Midsize |
| Horrell Hill Elementary Hopkins | PK–5 | Regular | 565 | 37.0 | 15.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Eau Claire High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 542 | 46.5 | 11.7 | City: Midsize |
| W. G. Sanders Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 503 | 54.0 | 9.3 | City: Midsize |
| Pine Grove Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 501 | 39.0 | 12.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Watkins-Nance Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 499 | 30.0 | 16.6 | City: Midsize |
| Sandel Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 479 | 36.0 | 13.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Southeast Middle Hopkins | 6–8 | Regular | 462 | 41.0 | 11.3 | Rural: Fringe |
| Hopkins Middle Hopkins | 6–8 | Regular | 458 | 41.0 | 11.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Forest Heights Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 435 | 36.0 | 12.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| H. B. Rhame Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 418 | 30.0 | 13.9 | City: Midsize |
| Carver-Lyon Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 417 | 47.0 | 8.9 | City: Midsize |
| Bradley Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 392 | 33.0 | 11.9 | City: Midsize |
| Alcorn Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 381 | 30.5 | 12.5 | City: Midsize |
| A. J. Lewis Greenview Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 358 | 23.5 | 15.2 | City: Midsize |
| Mill Creek Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 353 | 23.0 | 15.3 | Suburb: Large |
| J. P. Thomas Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 346 | 28.0 | 12.4 | Suburb: Large |
| C. A. Johnson High Columbia | 9–12 | Regular | 344 | 38.0 | 9.1 | City: Midsize |
| Rosewood Elementary Columbia | K–5 | Regular | 338 | 25.9 | 13.1 | City: Midsize |
| W. A. Perry Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 320 | 32.0 | 10 | City: Midsize |
| Hyatt Park Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 317 | 27.0 | 11.7 | City: Midsize |
| Annie Burnside Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 306 | 22.0 | 13.9 | City: Midsize |
| Brockman Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 297 | 21.0 | 14.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Hopkins Elementary Hopkins | PK–5 | Regular | 284 | 22.5 | 12.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Burton Pack Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 255 | 26.0 | 9.8 | City: Midsize |
| Heyward Gibbes Middle Columbia | 6–8 | Regular | 252 | 25.5 | 9.9 | City: Midsize |
| A. C. Moore Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 244 | 23.0 | 10.6 | City: Midsize |
| Logan Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 237 | 22.0 | 10.8 | City: Midsize |
| South Kilbourne Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 234 | 20.0 | 11.7 | City: Midsize |
| Edward E. Taylor Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 217 | 19.0 | 11.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Arden Elementary Columbia | PK–5 | Regular | 216 | 19.0 | 11.4 | City: Midsize |
| Webber School Eastover | PK–5 | Regular | 209 | 20.5 | 10.2 | Rural: Distant |
| Gadsden Elementary Gadsden | PK–5 | Regular | 133 | 15.0 | 8.9 | Rural: Distant |
| Carolina School for InquiryCharter Columbia | PK–6 | Regular | 114 | 12.0 | 9.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Richland One Charter Middle CollegeCharter Columbia | 11–12 | Regular | 106 | 4.5 | 23.6 | City: Midsize |
| Pendergrass Fairwold School Columbia | K–12 | Special Education | 46 | 14.0 | 3.3 | City: Midsize |
| Samuel A. Heyward Career and Technology Center Columbia | 9–12 | Career and Technical | 0 | 23.0 | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in South Carolina: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.