SchoolScope USA

Cranston

Public school district based in Cranston, Rhode Island. NCES district ID 4400240; state ID RI-07.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
9,861
22 of 23 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
758.0
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, CranstonCranston, Rhode Island · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 164
Kindergarten 629
Grade 1 598
Grade 2 650
Grade 3 702
Grade 4 733
Grade 5 700
Grade 6 779
Grade 7 760
Grade 8 792
Grade 9 764
Grade 10 844
Grade 11 865
Grade 12 881

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, CranstonCranston, Rhode Island · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.8%
Asian 8.3%
Black or African American 4.9%
Hispanic/Latino 37.1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.3%
Two or more races 6.2%
White 42.4%
Not Specified 0.1%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, CranstonCranston, Rhode Island · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.5%
Male 50.4%
Not Specified 0.1%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 22, Rural 1.

Operating public schools, CranstonRhode Island · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Cranston High School West
Cranston
9–12 Regular 1,653 107.0 15.4 Suburb: Large
Cranston High School East
Cranston
9–12 Regular 1,525 116.0 13.1 Suburb: Large
Western Hills Middle School
Cranston
6–8 Regular 727 52.0 14 Suburb: Large
Park View Middle School
Cranston
6–8 Regular 711 58.0 12.3 Suburb: Large
Garden City School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 530 38.0 13.9 Suburb: Large
Hugh B. Bain Middle School
Cranston
6–8 Regular 527 50.0 10.5 Suburb: Large
Orchard Farms El. School
Cranston
PK–5 Regular 444 31.0 14.3 Rural: Fringe
Gladstone Street School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 402 35.0 11.5 Suburb: Large
Hope Highlands Middle School
Cranston
6–8 Regular 366 28.0 13.1 Suburb: Large
Edward S. Rhodes School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 287 19.0 15.1 Suburb: Large
Edgewood Highland
Cranston
PK–5 Regular 276 20.0 13.8 Suburb: Large
Glen Hills School
Cranston
PK–5 Regular 270 19.0 14.2 Suburb: Large
Woodridge School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 260 20.0 13 Suburb: Large
W. R. Dutemple School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 254 19.0 13.4 Suburb: Large
Oak Lawn School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 247 15.0 16.5 Suburb: Large
George J. Peters School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 244 18.0 13.6 Suburb: Large
Eden Park School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 243 18.0 13.5 Suburb: Large
Stone Hill School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 234 20.0 11.7 Suburb: Large
Stadium School
Cranston
K–5 Regular 227 18.0 12.6 Suburb: Large
Arlington School
Cranston
PK–5 Regular 209 16.0 13.1 Suburb: Large
Apprenticeship Exploration SchCharter
Cranston
9–12 Regular 176 22.0 8 Suburb: Large
Cranston Early Learning Center
Cranston
PK Alternative 49 5.0 9.8 Suburb: Large
Cranston Career & Tech Center
Cranston
10–12 Career and Technical Not reported 14.0 — Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Rhode Island: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.