Newburgh City School District
Public school district based in Newburgh, New York. NCES district ID 3620700; state ID NY-441600010000.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 357 | |
| Kindergarten | 736 | |
| Grade 1 | 762 | |
| Grade 2 | 840 | |
| Grade 3 | 794 | |
| Grade 4 | 751 | |
| Grade 5 | 718 | |
| Grade 6 | 722 | |
| Grade 7 | 767 | |
| Grade 8 | 750 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,008 | |
| Grade 10 | 935 | |
| Grade 11 | 699 | |
| Grade 12 | 867 | |
| Ungraded | 56 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 1.7% | |
| Black or African American | 18.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 62.4% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 4.5% | |
| White | 12.4% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 4, Suburb 8.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newburgh Free Academy Newburgh | 9–12 | Regular | 3,550 | 255.9 | 13.9 | City: Small |
| Meadow Hill School Newburgh | K–8 | Regular | 982 | 87.8 | 11.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Temple Hill School New Windsor | K–8 | Regular | 890 | 85.2 | 10.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Heritage Middle School New Windsor | 6–8 | Regular | 802 | 77.4 | 10.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Gidney Avenue Memorial School Newburgh | PK–5 | Regular | 788 | 66.0 | 11.9 | City: Small |
| South Middle School Newburgh | 6–8 | Regular | 782 | 77.9 | 10 | City: Small |
| Gardnertown Leadership Academy Elementary School Newburgh | PK–5 | Regular | 612 | 48.4 | 12.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Fostertown School Newburgh | K–5 | Regular | 594 | 50.2 | 11.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Vails Gate Steam Academy New Windsor | K–5 | Regular | 500 | 45.5 | 11 | Suburb: Large |
| Horizon-On-the-Hudson School Newburgh | PK–5 | Regular | 447 | 44.6 | 10 | City: Small |
| New Windsor School New Windsor | K–5 | Regular | 439 | 39.0 | 11.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Balmville School Newburgh | PK–5 | Regular | 376 | 37.9 | 9.9 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in New York: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.