Gallup
Public school district based in Gallup, New Mexico. NCES district ID 3501110; state ID NM-35043000.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 476 | |
| Kindergarten | 738 | |
| Grade 1 | 722 | |
| Grade 2 | 753 | |
| Grade 3 | 739 | |
| Grade 4 | 788 | |
| Grade 5 | 914 | |
| Grade 6 | 866 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,005 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,115 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,151 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,138 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,143 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,150 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 62.2% | |
| Asian | 0.8% | |
| Black or African American | 0.9% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 23.1% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 4.6% | |
| White | 8.3% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.9% | |
| Male | 50.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Town 12, Rural 21.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gallup Central Alternative Gallup | 6–12 | Alternative | 1,244 | 96.0 | 13 | Town: Remote |
| Miyamura High School Gallup | 9–12 | Regular | 1,237 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Gallup High Gallup | 9–12 | Regular | 796 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| John F. Kennedy Middle Gallup | 6–8 | Regular | 648 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Chief Manuelito Middle Gallup | 6–8 | Regular | 634 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Gallup Middle Gallup | 6–8 | Regular | 480 | 58.0 | 8.3 | Town: Remote |
| Jefferson Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 460 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Del Norte Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 424 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Lincoln Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 414 | 67.5 | 6.1 | Town: Remote |
| Tobe Turpen Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 397 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Thoreau High Thoreau | 9–12 | Regular | 389 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Thoreau Middle Thoreau | 6–8 | Regular | 362 | 47.0 | 7.7 | Rural: Remote |
| Thoreau Elementary Thoreau | PK–5 | Regular | 359 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Stagecoach Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 340 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Catherine A. Miller Elementary Church Rock | PK–5 | Regular | 317 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Red Rock Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 311 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Navajo Elementary Navajo | PK–5 | Regular | 310 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Tohatchi Middle Tohatchi | 6–8 | Regular | 297 | 43.0 | 6.9 | Rural: Remote |
| Indian Hills Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 294 | Not reported | — | Town: Remote |
| Crownpoint Elementary Crownpoint | PK–5 | Regular | 281 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Crownpoint High Crownpoint | 9–12 | Regular | 279 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Tohatchi High Tohatchi | 9–12 | Regular | 279 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| Ramah High Ramah | 6–12 | Regular | 269 | 97.5 | 2.8 | Rural: Remote |
| Chee Dodge Elementary Yah Ta Hey | PK–5 | Regular | 261 | Not reported | — | Rural: Fringe |
| Twin Lakes Elementary Gallup | PK–5 | Regular | 256 | 51.9 | 4.9 | Rural: Distant |
| Tohatchi Elementary Tohatchi | PK–5 | Regular | 246 | Not reported | — | Rural: Remote |
| David Skeet Elementary Vanderwagen | PK–5 | Regular | 232 | 49.8 | 4.7 | Rural: Remote |
| Crownpoint Middle Crownpoint | 6–8 | Regular | 226 | 47.0 | 4.8 | Rural: Remote |
| Navajo Middle School Navajo | 6–8 | Regular | 224 | 45.0 | 5 | Rural: Remote |
| Ramah Elementary Ramah | PK–5 | Regular | 223 | 42.5 | 5.2 | Rural: Remote |
| Navajo Pine High Navajo | 9–12 | Regular | 140 | 62.1 | 2.3 | Rural: Remote |
| Tse Yi Gai High Pueblo Pintado | 6–12 | Regular | 64 | 36.0 | 1.8check | Rural: Remote |
| Education Dev Center Gallup | PK–12 | Special Education | 5 | 20.0 | 0.3check | Town: Remote |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in New Mexico: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.