Worcester
Public school district based in Worcester, Massachusetts. NCES district ID 2513230; state ID MA-0348.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,057 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,905 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,863 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,799 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,859 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,577 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,755 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,774 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,757 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,687 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,969 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,979 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,873 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,834 | |
| Ungraded | 90 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 6.3% | |
| Black or African American | 18.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 45.9% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.0% | |
| Two or more races | 4.0% | |
| White | 24.9% | |
| Not Specified | 0.0% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.4% | |
| Male | 51.6% | |
| Not Specified | 0.0% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 47.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South High Community Worcester | 9–12 | Regular | 1,800 | 123.2 | 14.6 | City: Midsize |
| Doherty Memorial High Worcester | 9–12 | Regular | 1,573 | 103.0 | 15.3 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester Technical High Worcester | 9–12 | Career and Technical | 1,442 | 118.0 | 12.2 | City: Midsize |
| North High Worcester | 9–12 | Regular | 1,376 | 95.2 | 14.4 | City: Midsize |
| Burncoat Senior High Worcester | 9–12 | Regular | 1,073 | 80.7 | 13.3 | City: Midsize |
| Sullivan Middle Worcester | 6–8 | Regular | 940 | 73.5 | 12.8 | City: Midsize |
| Forest Grove Middle Worcester | 7–8 | Regular | 839 | 73.3 | 11.5 | City: Midsize |
| Quinsigamond Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 738 | 55.4 | 13.3 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester East Middle Worcester | 7–8 | Regular | 731 | 51.1 | 14.3 | City: Midsize |
| Burncoat Middle School Worcester | 7–8 | Regular | 720 | 53.2 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Nelson Place Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 621 | 46.3 | 13.4 | City: Midsize |
| Belmont Street Community Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 615 | 41.6 | 14.8 | City: Midsize |
| Roosevelt Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 604 | 43.7 | 13.8 | City: Midsize |
| Gates Lane Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 547 | 44.2 | 12.4 | City: Midsize |
| Vernon Hill School Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 525 | 39.1 | 13.4 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester Dual Language Magnet School Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 519 | 44.8 | 11.6 | City: Midsize |
| Norrback Avenue Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 504 | 42.7 | 11.8 | City: Midsize |
| Rice Square Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 502 | 32.8 | 15.3 | City: Midsize |
| Woodland Academy Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 482 | 39.0 | 12.3 | City: Midsize |
| Elm Park Community Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 478 | 32.0 | 14.9 | City: Midsize |
| Claremont Academy Worcester | 7–12 | Regular | 474 | 36.3 | 13.1 | City: Midsize |
| City View Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 464 | 38.3 | 12.1 | City: Midsize |
| Flagg Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 412 | 22.5 | 18.3 | City: Midsize |
| Chandler Elementary Community Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 402 | 27.7 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Grafton Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 386 | 33.6 | 11.5 | City: Midsize |
| Columbus Park Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 381 | 29.4 | 13 | City: Midsize |
| Union Hill School Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 377 | 28.9 | 13.1 | City: Midsize |
| Tatnuck Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 376 | 27.7 | 13.6 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester Arts Magnet School Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 372 | 25.6 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Jacob Hiatt Magnet Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 367 | 26.2 | 14 | City: Midsize |
| Goddard School/Science Technical Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 359 | 29.1 | 12.3 | City: Midsize |
| Head Start Worcester | PK | Regular | 349 | 23.0 | 15.2 | City: Midsize |
| West Tatnuck Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 343 | 23.7 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Canterbury Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 329 | 25.8 | 12.7 | City: Midsize |
| Thorndyke Road Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 319 | 21.4 | 14.9 | City: Midsize |
| May Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 310 | 21.7 | 14.3 | City: Midsize |
| Lake View Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 284 | 19.6 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Clark St Community Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 278 | 21.9 | 12.7 | City: Midsize |
| Midland Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 249 | 18.4 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Heard Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 245 | 17.7 | 13.8 | City: Midsize |
| University Pk Campus School Worcester | 7–12 | Regular | 233 | 20.4 | 11.4 | City: Midsize |
| Burncoat Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 223 | 20.6 | 10.8 | City: Midsize |
| Francis J McGrath Elementary Worcester | PK–6 | Regular | 200 | 17.7 | 11.3 | City: Midsize |
| Lincoln Street Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 177 | 18.5 | 9.6 | City: Midsize |
| Wawecus Road School Worcester | K–6 | Regular | 155 | 13.4 | 11.6 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester Academic Center for Transition (ACT) Worcester | 1–6 | Special Education | 49 | 12.7 | 3.9 | City: Midsize |
| Worcester Alternative High School Worcester | 9–12 | Special Education | 36 | 12.8 | 2.8 | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Massachusetts: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.