Newton
Public school district based in Newton Centre, Massachusetts. NCES district ID 2508610; state ID MA-0207.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 173 | |
| Kindergarten | 702 | |
| Grade 1 | 737 | |
| Grade 2 | 783 | |
| Grade 3 | 833 | |
| Grade 4 | 883 | |
| Grade 5 | 871 | |
| Grade 6 | 880 | |
| Grade 7 | 876 | |
| Grade 8 | 900 | |
| Grade 9 | 935 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,039 | |
| Grade 11 | 987 | |
| Grade 12 | 997 | |
| Ungraded | 36 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 21.7% | |
| Black or African American | 4.7% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 11.1% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 9.1% | |
| White | 53.0% | |
| Not Specified | 0.5% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.3% | |
| Male | 50.3% | |
| Not Specified | 0.5% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 22.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newton North High Newtonville | 9–12 | Regular | 2,096 | 194.5 | 10.8 | City: Small |
| Newton South High Newton Centre | 9–12 | Regular | 1,898 | 163.0 | 11.6 | City: Small |
| F A Day Middle Newtonville | 6–8 | Regular | 860 | 79.5 | 10.8 | City: Small |
| Charles E Brown Middle Newton Centre | 6–8 | Regular | 713 | 68.2 | 10.5 | City: Small |
| Oak Hill Middle Newton | 6–8 | Regular | 649 | 67.8 | 9.6 | City: Small |
| Bigelow Middle Newton | 6–8 | Regular | 434 | 43.5 | 10 | City: Small |
| Cabot Newtonville | K–5 | Regular | 414 | 37.6 | 11 | City: Small |
| Zervas Waban | K–5 | Regular | 399 | 35.3 | 11.3 | City: Small |
| A E Angier Waban | K–5 | Regular | 383 | 38.1 | 10.1 | City: Small |
| Countryside Newton Highlands | K–5 | Regular | 369 | 38.0 | 9.7 | City: Small |
| Horace Mann Newtonville | K–5 | Regular | 351 | 33.3 | 10.5 | City: Small |
| C C Burr Auburndale | K–5 | Regular | 350 | 31.4 | 11.1 | City: Small |
| Memorial Spaulding Newton Centre | K–5 | Regular | 342 | 34.5 | 9.9 | City: Small |
| Lincoln-Eliot Newton | K–5 | Regular | 336 | 35.8 | 9.4 | City: Small |
| Bowen Newton Centre | K–5 | Regular | 325 | 32.5 | 10 | City: Small |
| Mason-Rice Newton Centre | K–5 | Regular | 321 | 27.4 | 11.7 | City: Small |
| Franklin West Newton | K–5 | Regular | 320 | 32.4 | 9.9 | City: Small |
| Underwood Newton | K–5 | Regular | 253 | 22.6 | 11.2 | City: Small |
| Peirce West Newton | K–5 | Regular | 249 | 21.2 | 11.7 | City: Small |
| Williams Auburndale | K–5 | Regular | 211 | 24.6 | 8.6 | City: Small |
| John Ward Newton Centre | K–5 | Regular | 186 | 21.1 | 8.8 | City: Small |
| Newton Early Childhood Program Newton | PK | Regular | 173 | 17.3 | 10 | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Massachusetts: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.