Wicomico County Public Schools
Public school district based in Salisbury, Maryland. NCES district ID 2400690; state ID MD-22.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 757 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,231 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,246 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,178 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,251 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,210 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,053 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,042 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,041 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,048 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,252 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,182 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,132 | |
| Grade 12 | 959 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.5% | |
| Asian | 2.7% | |
| Black or African American | 39.3% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 15.2% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 8.1% | |
| White | 34.3% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 11, Suburb 8, Rural 6.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| James M. Bennett High Salisbury | 9–12 | Regular | 1,474 | 95.0 | 15.5 | City: Small |
| Wicomico High Salisbury | 9–12 | Regular | 1,304 | 92.0 | 14.2 | Suburb: Small |
| Parkside High Salisbury | 9–12 | Regular | 1,272 | 108.0 | 11.8 | City: Small |
| Prince Street School Salisbury | PK–5 | Regular | 976 | 64.0 | 15.3 | City: Small |
| Bennett Middle Fruitland | 6–8 | Regular | 963 | 81.0 | 11.9 | Suburb: Small |
| Delmar Elementary Delmar | PK–4 | Regular | 914 | 53.0 | 17.2 | Suburb: Small |
| Salisbury Middle Salisbury | 6–8 | Regular | 847 | 96.0 | 8.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Wicomico Middle Salisbury | 6–8 | Regular | 827 | 74.0 | 11.2 | City: Small |
| Mardela Middle & High Mardela Springs | 6–12 | Regular | 742 | 52.0 | 14.3 | Rural: Distant |
| Beaver Run School Salisbury | PK–2 | Regular | 741 | 51.0 | 14.5 | Suburb: Small |
| Pinehurst Elementary Salisbury | PK–5 | Regular | 564 | 45.0 | 12.5 | City: Small |
| North Salisbury Elementary Salisbury | 3–5 | Regular | 526 | 41.0 | 12.8 | City: Small |
| Pemberton Elementary Salisbury | PK–5 | Regular | 506 | 44.0 | 11.5 | City: Small |
| East Salisbury Elementary Salisbury | 3–5 | Regular | 486 | 38.0 | 12.8 | City: Small |
| Fruitland Primary Fruitland | PK–2 | Regular | 445 | 36.0 | 12.4 | Suburb: Small |
| West Salisbury Salisbury | PK–2 | Regular | 409 | 31.0 | 13.2 | City: Small |
| Glen Avenue School Salisbury | 2–5 | Regular | 386 | 37.0 | 10.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Fruitland Intermediate Fruitland | 3–5 | Regular | 343 | 29.0 | 11.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Westside Intermediate Hebron | 2–5 | Regular | 342 | 25.0 | 13.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Northwestern Elementary Mardela Springs | PK–5 | Regular | 340 | 22.0 | 15.5 | Rural: Distant |
| Pittsville Elementary & Middle Pittsville | 4–8 | Regular | 325 | 34.0 | 9.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Willards Elementary Willards | PK–3 | Regular | 311 | 19.0 | 16.4 | Rural: Distant |
| Charles H. Chipman Elementary Salisbury | PK–1 | Regular | 303 | 24.5 | 12.4 | City: Small |
| Westside Primary Quantico | PK–1 | Regular | 201 | 13.0 | 15.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Wicomico County Evening High Salisbury | 9–12 | Alternative | 35 | 11.0 | 3.2 | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Maryland: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.