SchoolScope USA

Carroll County Public Schools

Public school district based in Westminster, Maryland. NCES district ID 2400210; state ID MD-06.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
26,141
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,748.1
42 of 44 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Carroll County Public SchoolsCarroll County Public Schools, Maryland · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 482
Kindergarten 1,774
Grade 1 1,899
Grade 2 1,893
Grade 3 2,049
Grade 4 2,004
Grade 5 2,033
Grade 6 1,962
Grade 7 1,993
Grade 8 1,967
Grade 9 2,101
Grade 10 1,985
Grade 11 2,232
Grade 12 1,767

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Carroll County Public SchoolsCarroll County Public Schools, Maryland · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian 3.9%
Black or African American 5.4%
Hispanic/Latino 9.3%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or more races 4.3%
White 76.7%
Not Specified 0.1%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Carroll County Public SchoolsCarroll County Public Schools, Maryland · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.5%
Male 51.4%
Not Specified 0.1%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 3, Town 30, Rural 11.

Operating public schools, Carroll County Public SchoolsMaryland · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Westminster High
Westminster
9–12 Regular 1,477 89.5 16.5 Town: Fringe
Manchester Valley High
Manchester
9–12 Regular 1,339 70.8 18.9 Town: Fringe
Winters Mill High
Westminster
9–12 Regular 1,156 63.7 18.2 Town: Fringe
Century High
Sykesville
9–12 Regular 1,101 59.0 18.7 Rural: Fringe
Liberty High
Sykesville
9–12 Regular 1,007 55.2 18.3 Town: Fringe
South Carroll High
Sykesville
9–12 Regular 933 52.8 17.7 Rural: Distant
Westminster West Middle
Westminster
6–8 Regular 923 58.3 15.8 Town: Fringe
Francis Scott Key High
Union Bridge
9–12 Regular 906 56.3 16.1 Rural: Distant
Oklahoma Road Middle
Sykesville
6–8 Regular 816 44.3 18.4 Town: Fringe
Westminster East Middle
Westminster
6–8 Regular 796 59.0 13.5 Town: Fringe
Mount Airy Middle
Mount Airy
6–8 Regular 761 44.5 17.1 Suburb: Midsize
Linton Springs Elementary
Sykesville
PK–5 Regular 759 44.7 17 Rural: Fringe
Winfield Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 724 52.9 13.7 Rural: Distant
Sykesville Middle
Sykesville
6–8 Regular 697 46.8 14.9 Town: Fringe
Manchester Elementary
Manchester
PK–5 Regular 671 42.5 15.8 Town: Fringe
Northwest Middle
Taneytown
6–8 Regular 655 47.0 13.9 Town: Distant
Sandymount Elementary
Finksburg
PK–5 Regular 640 39.6 16.2 Town: Fringe
Shiloh Middle
Hampstead
6–8 Regular 631 43.3 14.6 Town: Fringe
Freedom District Elementary
Sykesville
K–5 Regular 627 39.4 15.9 Town: Fringe
North Carroll Middle
Hampstead
6–8 Regular 626 39.7 15.8 Rural: Fringe
Runnymede Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 625 44.8 14 Rural: Distant
Carrolltowne Elementary
Sykesville
PK–5 Regular 593 40.4 14.7 Town: Fringe
Cranberry Station Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 593 39.5 15 Town: Fringe
William Winchester Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 587 38.6 15.2 Town: Fringe
Piney Ridge Elementary
Sykesville
PK–5 Regular 578 36.5 15.8 Town: Fringe
Westminster Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 564 39.9 14.1 Town: Fringe
Ebb Valley Elementary
Manchester
PK–5 Regular 563 36.3 15.5 Town: Fringe
Friendship Valley Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 518 37.5 13.8 Rural: Fringe
Mechanicsville Elementary
Sykesville
PK–5 Regular 510 33.3 15.3 Rural: Fringe
Elmer A. Wolfe Elementary
Union Bridge
PK–5 Regular 502 41.2 12.2 Rural: Distant
Eldersburg Elementary
Sykesville
PK–5 Regular 470 31.0 15.2 Town: Fringe
Mount Airy Elementary
Mount Airy
3–5 Regular 462 29.1 15.9 Suburb: Midsize
Taneytown Elementary
Taneytown
PK–5 Regular 450 39.3 11.5 Town: Distant
Robert Moton Elementary
Westminster
PK–5 Regular 440 46.7 9.4 Town: Fringe
Spring Garden Elementary
Hampstead
PK–5 Regular 439 31.7 13.9 Town: Fringe
Hampstead Elementary
Hampstead
PK–5 Regular 400 34.9 11.4 Town: Fringe
Parr's Ridge Elementary
Mt Airy
PK–2 Regular 391 26.4 14.8 Suburb: Midsize
Gateway School
Westminster
9–12 Alternative 80 17.5 4.6 Town: Fringe
Flexible Student Support
Westminster
9–12 Alternative 44 Not reported — Town: Fringe
Post Secondary Program
Westminster
12 Alternative 36 4.0 9 Town: Fringe
Carroll Springs School
Westminster
PK–12 Special Education 32 7.2 4.4 Town: Fringe
Crossroads Middle School
Westminster
6–8 Alternative 13 4.0 3.3 Town: Fringe
PRIDE School
Westminster
K–5 Alternative 6 Not reported — Rural: Fringe
Carroll County Career & Technology Center
Westminster
11–12 Career and Technical 0 39.8 — Town: Fringe

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Maryland: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.