SchoolScope USA

Calvert County Public Schools

Public school district based in Prince Frederick, Maryland. NCES district ID 2400150; state ID MD-04.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
14,849
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
975.5
24 of 25 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Calvert County Public SchoolsCalvert County Public Schools, Maryland · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 300
Kindergarten 899
Grade 1 996
Grade 2 1,052
Grade 3 1,059
Grade 4 1,069
Grade 5 1,116
Grade 6 1,159
Grade 7 1,127
Grade 8 1,235
Grade 9 1,229
Grade 10 1,187
Grade 11 1,171
Grade 12 1,250

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Calvert County Public SchoolsCalvert County Public Schools, Maryland · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian 1.7%
Black or African American 13.8%
Hispanic/Latino 8.8%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 10.5%
White 65.1%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Calvert County Public SchoolsCalvert County Public Schools, Maryland · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 4, Town 1, Rural 20.

Operating public schools, Calvert County Public SchoolsMaryland · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Northern High
Owings
9–12 Regular 1,478 79.7 18.6 Rural: Fringe
Huntingtown High School
Huntingtown
9–12 Regular 1,311 74.1 17.7 Rural: Distant
Calvert High
Prince Frederick
9–12 Regular 1,080 63.8 16.9 Rural: Distant
Patuxent High
Lusby
9–12 Regular 928 60.5 15.3 Suburb: Small
Northern Middle
Owings
6–8 Regular 745 39.0 19.1 Rural: Fringe
Windy Hill Middle
Owings
6–8 Regular 669 42.5 15.7 Rural: Fringe
Mount Harmony Elementary
Owings
PK–5 Regular 656 40.5 16.2 Rural: Fringe
Patuxent Appeal Elementary Campus
Lusby
PK–5 Regular 641 45.3 14.2 Suburb: Small
Barstow Elementary
Prince Frederick
PK–5 Regular 630 39.9 15.8 Rural: Distant
Plum Point Middle
Huntingtown
6–8 Regular 619 37.4 16.6 Rural: Distant
Calvert Middle
Prince Frederick
6–8 Regular 607 43.5 14 Rural: Distant
Sunderland Elementary
Sunderland
PK–5 Regular 606 40.5 15 Rural: Fringe
Windy Hill Elementary
Owings
PK–5 Regular 598 41.5 14.4 Rural: Fringe
Plum Point Elementary
Huntingtown
PK–5 Regular 568 38.5 14.8 Rural: Distant
Dowell Elementary
Lusby
PK–5 Regular 541 39.7 13.6 Suburb: Small
Beach Elementary
Chesapeake Beach
PK–5 Regular 502 31.3 16 Town: Fringe
Calvert Elementary
Prince Frederick
PK–5 Regular 495 33.5 14.8 Rural: Distant
Huntingtown Elementary
Huntingtown
PK–5 Regular 475 33.1 14.4 Rural: Distant
Southern Middle
Lusby
6–8 Regular 442 31.0 14.3 Rural: Fringe
Mill Creek Middle
Lusby
6–8 Regular 436 27.0 16.1 Suburb: Small
St Leonard Elementary
St Leonard
PK–5 Regular 401 31.7 12.6 Rural: Distant
Mutual Elementary
Port Republic
PK–5 Regular 374 26.0 14.4 Rural: Distant
Calvert Country School
Prince Frederick
PK–12 Special Education 40 12.0 3.3 Rural: Distant
Calvert County Alternative School
Prince Frederick
6–12 Alternative 7 Not reported — Rural: Distant
Career and Technology Academy
Prince Frederick
9–12 Career and Technical 0 23.5 — Rural: Distant

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Maryland: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.