SchoolScope USA

Waterloo Comm School District

Public school district based in Waterloo, Iowa. NCES district ID 1930480; state ID IA-076795 000.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
10,484
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
765.2
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
13.7
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Waterloo Comm School DistrictWaterloo Comm School District, Iowa · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 421
Kindergarten 843
Grade 1 790
Grade 2 735
Grade 3 769
Grade 4 693
Grade 5 748
Grade 6 758
Grade 7 753
Grade 8 752
Grade 9 1,140
Grade 10 815
Grade 11 712
Grade 12 555

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Waterloo Comm School DistrictWaterloo Comm School District, Iowa · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native Suppressed
Asian 3.2%
Black or African American 28.8%
Hispanic/Latino 14.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 4.5%
Two or more races 10.7%
White 38.4%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Waterloo Comm School DistrictWaterloo Comm School District, Iowa · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 15, Suburb 2, Rural 1.

Operating public schools, Waterloo Comm School DistrictIowa · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
West High School
Waterloo
9–12 Regular 1,696 100.7 16.8 City: Small
East High School
Waterloo
9–12 Regular 1,016 61.9 16.4 City: Small
Hoover Middle School
Waterloo
6–8 Regular 848 56.8 14.9 City: Small
Kittrell Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 576 46.4 12.4 City: Small
Expo Alternative Learning Center
Waterloo
6–12 Alternative 561 35.1 16 City: Small
Lowell Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 538 42.2 12.8 City: Small
Orange Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 518 37.9 13.7 Rural: Fringe
Fred Becker Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 501 38.2 13.1 City: Small
Central Middle School
Waterloo
6–8 Regular 469 35.1 13.4 City: Small
Lincoln Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 463 38.4 12.1 City: Small
Lou Henry Elementary School
Waterloo
K–5 Regular 460 38.0 12.1 City: Small
George Washington Carver Academy
Waterloo
6–8 Regular 455 33.3 13.7 City: Small
Highland Elementary School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 448 37.5 11.9 City: Small
Cunningham School
Waterloo
PK–5 Regular 443 34.9 12.7 City: Small
Bunger Middle School
Evansdale
6–8 Regular 440 35.1 12.5 Suburb: Midsize
Poyner Elementary
Evansdale
PK–5 Regular 362 31.4 11.5 Suburb: Midsize
Irving Elementary School
Waterloo
K–5 Regular 353 33.5 10.5 City: Small
Kingsley Elementary School
Waterloo
K–5 Regular 337 29.0 11.6 City: Small

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Iowa: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.