Iowa City Comm School District
Public school district based in Iowa City, Iowa. NCES district ID 1914700; state ID IA-523141 000.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 545 | |
| Kindergarten | 992 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,038 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,023 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,105 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,099 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,063 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,096 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,108 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,139 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,227 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,150 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,164 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,211 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.1% | |
| Asian | 4.7% | |
| Black or African American | 24.2% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 14.1% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 6.1% | |
| White | 50.0% | |
| Not Specified | 0.4% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.9% | |
| Male | 51.6% | |
| Not Specified | 0.4% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 15, Suburb 12, Rural 1.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iowa City High School Iowa City | 9–12 | Regular | 1,666 | 101.6 | 16.4 | City: Small |
| West Senior High School Iowa City | 9–12 | Regular | 1,514 | 94.5 | 16 | City: Small |
| Liberty High School North Liberty | 9–12 | Regular | 1,286 | 77.2 | 16.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Southeast Middle School Iowa City | 6–8 | Regular | 1,269 | 82.9 | 15.3 | City: Small |
| Northwest Middle School Coralville | 6–8 | Regular | 1,113 | 77.5 | 14.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| North Central Middle School North Liberty | 6–8 | Regular | 925 | 63.5 | 14.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Penn Elementary School North Liberty | PK–5 | Regular | 512 | 33.2 | 15.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Herbert Hoover Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 464 | 36.1 | 12.9 | City: Small |
| Weber Elementary Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 456 | 42.3 | 10.8 | City: Small |
| Ernest Horn Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 453 | 33.2 | 13.6 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Alexander Elementary Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 436 | 38.3 | 11.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Christine Grant Elementary North Liberty | PK–5 | Regular | 426 | 32.1 | 13.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Norman Borlaug Elementary School Coralville | PK–5 | Regular | 405 | 31.7 | 12.8 | Suburb: Midsize |
| James Van Allen Elementary School North Liberty | PK–5 | Regular | 376 | 25.6 | 14.7 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Buford Garner Elementary North Liberty | PK–5 | Regular | 344 | 25.5 | 13.5 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Central Elementary School Coralville | PK–5 | Regular | 343 | 30.0 | 11.4 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Helen Lemme Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 340 | 24.6 | 13.8 | City: Small |
| Longfellow Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 325 | 29.9 | 10.9 | City: Small |
| Wickham Elementary Coralville | PK–5 | Regular | 315 | 20.6 | 15.3 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Grant Wood Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 306 | 28.1 | 10.9 | City: Small |
| Kirkwood Elementary School Coralville | PK–5 | Regular | 270 | 27.1 | 10 | Suburb: Midsize |
| Robert Lucas Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 245 | 18.1 | 13.5 | City: Small |
| Lincoln Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 217 | 15.1 | 14.4 | City: Small |
| Mark Twain Elementary Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 213 | 22.1 | 9.6 | City: Small |
| Horace Mann Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 207 | 18.1 | 11.4 | City: Small |
| Bohumil Shimek Elementary School Iowa City | PK–5 | Regular | 181 | 16.0 | 11.3 | City: Small |
| Elizabeth Tate Alt. High School Iowa City | 9–12 | Alternative | 180 | 19.0 | 9.5 | City: Small |
| ICCSD Online Learning Program Iowa City | K–12 | Regular | 173 | 8.0 | 21.8 | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Iowa: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.