SchoolScope USA

School City of Hammond

Public school district based in Hammond, Indiana. NCES district ID 1804320; state ID IN-4710.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
9,755
13 of 14 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
554.0
13 of 14 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, School City of HammondSchool City of Hammond, Indiana · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Pre-Kindergarten 0
Kindergarten 678
Grade 1 755
Grade 2 751
Grade 3 767
Grade 4 755
Grade 5 774
Grade 6 659
Grade 7 653
Grade 8 703
Grade 9 771
Grade 10 829
Grade 11 808
Grade 12 852

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, School City of HammondSchool City of Hammond, Indiana · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian Suppressed
Black or African American 39.8%
Hispanic/Latino 47.4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 4.6%
White 8.0%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, School City of HammondSchool City of Hammond, Indiana · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.5%
Male 51.5%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 14.

Operating public schools, School City of HammondIndiana · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Hammond Central High School
Hammond
9–12 Regular 1,814 85.8 21.2 Suburb: Large
Morton Senior High School
Hammond
9–12 Regular 1,446 76.5 18.9 Suburb: Large
Warren G Harding Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 755 42.8 17.6 Suburb: Large
Washington Irving Elementary Sch
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 754 37.3 20.2 Suburb: Large
Thomas A Edison Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 705 36.4 19.4 Suburb: Large
Henry W Eggers Middle School
Hammond
7–8 Regular 693 44.5 15.6 Suburb: Large
Charles N Scott Middle School
Hammond
7–8 Regular 663 35.5 18.7 Suburb: Large
Annie Burns-Hicks Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 622 38.8 16 Suburb: Large
Joseph Hess Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 611 36.3 16.8 Suburb: Large
Thomas Jefferson Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 570 36.4 15.7 Suburb: Large
Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 565 31.8 17.8 Suburb: Large
Frank O'Bannon Elementary School
Hammond
PK–6 Regular 557 35.8 15.5 Suburb: Large
Area Career Center
Hammond
6–12 Career and Technical 0 Not reported — Suburb: Large
Benjamin Franklin Elementary Sch
Whiting
PK–6 Regular Not reported 16.0 — Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in Indiana: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.