Norwalk School District
Public school district based in Norwalk, Connecticut. NCES district ID 0903090; state ID CT-1030011.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 340 | |
| Kindergarten | 708 | |
| Grade 1 | 844 | |
| Grade 2 | 794 | |
| Grade 3 | 778 | |
| Grade 4 | 780 | |
| Grade 5 | 816 | |
| Grade 6 | 790 | |
| Grade 7 | 820 | |
| Grade 8 | 767 | |
| Grade 9 | 914 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,062 | |
| Grade 11 | 930 | |
| Grade 12 | 998 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 3.6% | |
| Black or African American | 13.0% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 57.5% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 3.7% | |
| White | 21.7% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.5% | |
| Male | 51.4% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 22.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brien McMahon High School Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,739 | 118.4 | 14.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Norwalk High School Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 1,494 | 105.0 | 14.2 | Suburb: Large |
| West Rocks Middle School Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 657 | 57.6 | 11.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Ponus Ridge STEAM Academy Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 637 | 53.0 | 12 | Suburb: Large |
| Nathan Hale Middle School Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 499 | 48.0 | 10.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Roton Middle School Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 463 | 41.0 | 11.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Jefferson Marine Science Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 457 | 38.0 | 12 | Suburb: Large |
| Tracey Magnet School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 434 | 30.0 | 14.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Silvermine Dual Language Magnet School Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 428 | 28.0 | 15.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Kendall College & Career Academy Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 416 | 38.5 | 10.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Cranbury Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 410 | 31.5 | 13 | Suburb: Large |
| Brookside Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 408 | 31.0 | 13.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Rowayton School Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 402 | 34.0 | 11.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Fox Run Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 398 | 36.1 | 11 | Suburb: Large |
| Concord Magnet School Norwalk | K–8 | Regular | 388 | 27.0 | 14.4 | Suburb: Large |
| P-TECH Norwalk Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 388 | 37.0 | 10.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Marvin Elementary School Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 375 | 30.0 | 12.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Naramake Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 358 | 28.5 | 12.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Wolfpit Integrated Arts Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 341 | 32.5 | 10.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Center for Global Studies Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 283 | 30.3 | 9.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Norwalk Early Childhood Center Norwalk | PK | Regular | 187 | 7.0 | 26.7 | Suburb: Large |
| South Norwalk Elementary School Norwalk | PK–5 | Regular | 179 | 16.0 | 11.2 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Connecticut: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.