Hartford School District
Public school district based in Hartford, Connecticut. NCES district ID 0901920; state ID CT-0640011.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 1,149 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,010 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,149 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,137 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,171 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,143 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,127 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,096 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,128 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,170 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,327 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,131 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,013 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,003 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 4.8% | |
| Black or African American | 28.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 57.4% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 3.1% | |
| White | 6.0% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 49.5% | |
| Male | 50.5% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 40, Suburb 1.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy Hartford | 6–12 | Regular | 925 | 58.0 | 15.9 | City: Midsize |
| Weaver High School Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 721 | 34.5 | 20.9 | City: Midsize |
| Hartford Public High School Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 698 | 69.0 | 10.1 | City: Midsize |
| Dwight-Bellizzi Dual Language Academy Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 651 | 46.5 | 14 | City: Midsize |
| Kennelly School Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 628 | 44.5 | 14.1 | City: Midsize |
| Webster Micro Society Magnet School Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 626 | 43.3 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Capital Preparatory Magnet School Hartford | PK–12 | Regular | 580 | 34.0 | 17.1 | City: Midsize |
| M. D. Fox School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 562 | 37.0 | 15.2 | City: Midsize |
| Bulkeley High School Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 552 | 42.0 | 13.1 | City: Midsize |
| Environmental Sciences Magnet at Hooker School Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 547 | 33.0 | 16.6 | City: Midsize |
| Sport and Medical Sciences Academy Hartford | 6–12 | Regular | 463 | 30.0 | 15.4 | City: Midsize |
| Classical Magnet School Hartford | 6–12 | Regular | 438 | 33.0 | 13.3 | City: Midsize |
| Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts: PK-8 Campus Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 435 | 32.0 | 13.6 | City: Midsize |
| Global Communications Academy Hartford | K–8 | Regular | 414 | 31.0 | 13.4 | City: Midsize |
| University High School of Science and Engineering Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 406 | 28.0 | 14.5 | City: Midsize |
| Betances Learning Lab Magnet School Hartford | PK–4 | Regular | 398 | 29.5 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Naylor/CCSU Leadership Academy Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 372 | 25.5 | 14.6 | City: Midsize |
| Pathways Academy of Technology and Design East Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 359 | 21.7 | 16.5 | City: Small |
| Montessori Magnet at Fisher School Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 353 | 14.0 | 25.2 | City: Midsize |
| Parkville Community School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 351 | 33.0 | 10.6 | City: Midsize |
| STEM Magnet at Annie Fisher School Hartford | K–8 | Regular | 348 | 23.3 | 14.9 | City: Midsize |
| Montessori Magnet at Batchelder School Hartford | PK–6 | Regular | 346 | 13.4 | 25.8 | City: Midsize |
| Expeditionary Learning Academy at Moylan School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 342 | 28.0 | 12.2 | City: Midsize |
| Great Path Academy at CT State Manchester Manchester | 9–12 | Regular | 336 | 25.5 | 13.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Breakthrough Magnet School South Hartford | PK–8 | Regular | 326 | 24.0 | 13.6 | City: Midsize |
| Sanchez School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 311 | 20.0 | 15.6 | City: Midsize |
| McDonough Middle School Hartford | 6–8 | Regular | 301 | 25.0 | 12 | City: Midsize |
| Wish Museum School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 297 | 24.5 | 12.1 | City: Midsize |
| West Middle School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 289 | 27.5 | 10.5 | City: Midsize |
| Breakthrough Magnet School North Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 289 | 24.0 | 12 | City: Midsize |
| SAND School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 266 | 21.0 | 12.7 | City: Midsize |
| Milner Middle School Hartford | 6–8 | Regular | 261 | 24.0 | 10.9 | City: Midsize |
| Burr Middle School Hartford | 6–8 | Regular | 259 | 18.0 | 14.4 | City: Midsize |
| Burns Latino Studies Academy Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 251 | 20.0 | 12.6 | City: Midsize |
| Betances STEM Magnet School Hartford | 5–8 | Regular | 206 | 16.0 | 12.9 | City: Midsize |
| Rawson School Hartford | PK–5 | Regular | 198 | 21.0 | 9.4 | City: Midsize |
| M. L. King Jr. Middle School Hartford | 6–8 | Regular | 184 | 18.5 | 9.9 | City: Midsize |
| Renzulli Gifted and Talented Academy Hartford | 4–8 | Regular | 128 | 9.5 | 13.5 | City: Midsize |
| Hartford PreKindergarten Magnet School: North Campus Hartford | PK | Regular | 115 | 6.5 | 17.7 | City: Midsize |
| Hartford PreKindergarten Magnet School: South Campus Hartford | PK | Regular | 112 | 7.5 | 14.9 | City: Midsize |
| Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts: High School Campu Hartford | 9–12 | Regular | 110 | 11.0 | 10 | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Connecticut: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.